We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Save
You added Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel to your Saves list
50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Itatiba, SP
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place is a really "Luz en el cielo", I stayed for only two days but its worth to go back and enjoy a whole week there. Its very close to the little town, but at the same time is in the middle of the forest, we even received visits from the monkeys, so its very quiet and relaxing. The staff is very fun and welcoming, always ready to help you and also schedule surf lessons, and waterfall trails. The kitchen is well equiped, and one of the best things is the breakfast, which is something very hard to find in other hostels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    35
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
2
27
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the two cabinas and it was really clean and nice. We were amazed at how cool it was to sleep with the doors wide open and listen to the sounds of the jungle (although it was a little hard to get used to the first night). We woke up to monkeys and a view of the ocean in the distant. Amazing. Great staff who were very helpful with all our local questions. We had a sushi night at the hostel where we made dinner as a group and it was very enjoyable. Breakfasts were filling and delicious. We really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

If you're looking to stay in Montezuma on a budget, this is the place to be. Abbie (owner/manager) is welcoming, fun and very helpful, as are all of the other staff (several were American, so our limited Spanish was no problem). Great atmosphere, the place seems to be designed so that everyone congregates on the porch and socializes - we met a lot of great people this way. As long as you don't have any major mobility issues, the short walk up the hill from Montezuma is easy. We stayed in one of the new cabinas, and loved the open layout - the shower and balcony looks right out into the jungle and ocean, but with plenty of privacy. We had the windows and balcony doors open all of the time, the fan plus the bug net keep us cool/bug free. Didn't check out the dorm rooms but heard good things; highly recommend the cabinas, particularly for a couple. Breakfast and coffee were great, as was the 'family meal' we participated in - for $8 it was one of our best meals in CR! The $2 beers are a great deal too. We felt very safe - there are always staff on duty, and a safe at reception. Can't say enough good things about Luz en el Cielo - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view cabina is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezaltenango, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

five of us stayed here and loved it... my boyfriend and I spent a night and the sweet cabina up above which was perfect, and the dorms were great as well. Nice touches like a well-stocked kitchen, new and firm mattresses, clean EVERYWHERE, and good, strong coffee. Abbie the owner is extremely helpful and offered recommendations for places to stay in other towns along the peninsula. Thank you, Luz en el Cielo!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

A very warm and cosy hostel/b&b.

We were sleeping in the cabina above. The glass window in front of
the bed can be opened completely. So it feels like you're sleeping in the middle of the beautiful forest. Sounds of birds and monkeys all around. When the sun rises the view through the trees is amazing.

The rooms and kitchen are
clean. The staff is very kind and helpful. The other visitors were fun to be with at the time we were there.

Definitely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Beach, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I loved my stay here. It is in the beautiful town of Montezuma, set up the hill in the jungle. The atmosphere is laid back and fun and you are gauranteed to meet other travelers from all over the world. The daily breakfast is incredible and a great value! If you are a budget traveler and headed to Montezuma do not miss out on Luz. There is so much to do in the area such as hike to the waterfalls, go to the beach, explore the town, etc. etc. We had a great group staying here when I went and we did a few dinners on the town, hit up happy hour, and made a great dinner in the kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Luz en el Cielo is just around the corner of downtown Montezuma and it´s worth to clim the few meter uphill for a pleasant stay. At this moment -feb 2012- they only had dormrooms, the cabinas were not finished yet.

For only 15 dollars a night you get a bed in a room with 5 others, hot showers, Wifi all over the place and a very tastefull breakfast with fruit, gallo pinto and coffee.

Luz en el Cielo attracts a younger crowd and the atmosphere is very easy going: guys waxing their surfboards, while others are reading or sleeping in hammocks and others cooking dinner. Just like you want a nice hostel to be. At night you´ll hear the jungle, some cars on the road and the music from the communal area. No idea when that stopped, I think before midnight, but if you are here for a quiet night you´ll won´t be very happy. But I totally enjoyed it here and would have loved to stay a bit longer.

Definitely worth staying here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#5 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moctezuma
Hotel Moctezuma
#18 of 19 in Montezuma
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Address: 50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the jungle. Luz en el Cielo B&B/Hostel is located just out of Montezuma's town center. Montezuma is a small beach town with a huge heart and a lot of charm. This newly renovated, classy hostel is great for budget travels, families and couples. We currently have three dorm rooms in the main lodge, one dorm cabina with it's own balcony and bathroom, each equipped with new mattress, sheets and furnishings. We also have newly built private cabinas as of January 2012. Enjoy using our wireless internet, communal kitchen and lounge. Breakfast is included with every stay, as well as coffee all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luz En El Cielo Eco-Bed And Breakfast/Hostel
Luz En El Cielo Eco-b&b/ Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.