We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, fun, peaceful, and a all around good time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Save
You added Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel to your Saves list
50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Safe, fun, peaceful, and a all around good time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

When arriving to LUZ for my second visit, i was greeted by a couple of the new friendly staff members who took my bags and got me a glass of water with ice, which was a perfect welcoming!! I then was welcomed by a few of the other guests who were staying there, which again was welcoming and made me feel comfortable. After a quick check-in one of the staff members carried my bag up to my bed, which i was nicely made and clean. They had me in the ocean room with four beds....there is another room with four beds and a additional one with six beds. After getting settled, i went back to the communal area where i made some food in there well organized kitchen and then ate while having some good conversation with the staff and guests. I have to mention how friendly the staff is and how interested they are in your story and your travels and how they are ready for any question.
I was planning on staying for just a couple nites but ended up staying for a week. The town of montezuma is small but i had a blast on tours and the party nites with everyone at LUZ. Also i liked the location, how it was a couple minutes from town because it limited all the town noises and had more jungle noises with the occasional tico motorcycle zooming by. Another thing i wanted to add is the safety....they have a security guard and there is only one entrance. Although they didn't have lockers yet made, they do have a safe you can put your really valuable things in...which i believe is safer then lockers. Also it was nice that they will do your laundry for like 3000 colones, dry it and fold it!! Not to mention waking up, getting my cup of free coffee and getting served a perfect breakfast! This was the first hostel i stayed in that did that, sooo cool!! LUZ is a perfect spot for laying in the hammock and watching the monkeys crawl right over you in the trees. Keep up the great work Abbie and the rest of the LUZ crew!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    24
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
1
16
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Located in the forest on the hill above Montezuma town, Luz en el Cielo is a small and personal hostel that provides a relaxing home for the budget traveller. I was impressed when I arrived to find out that the hostel provided mosquito nets for a small price, as I am always getting murdered with bites. The staff were very friendly and the manageress was very kind and helpful when I lost my credit card. The small nature of the hsotel makes it easy to meet the other guests and make friends. One unique feature of the hostel is having the wildlife on your doorstep as it wasn't uncommon to see monkeys, iguanas, or birds from the hotsel common area. The staff were also able to help me with any questions I had about Montezuma and for my onwaqrd travel to San Jose. I aslo enjoyed the cooked breakfast. Montezuma was one of the highlights of my time in Costa Rica and Luz etc contributed alot to that enjoymernt-

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

If you plan to stay in Montezuma you're gonna need some spare days to throw in! You're gonna get stuck there because it's a lovely hostel, always clean, very much cared for and run by a funny crew who won't even get annoyed by you asking for pineapple every single morning =) And if you're lucky you can get a private tour to the waterfalls...so if you're looking for relaxing, fun, party and a hostel family, it's a MUST GO!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

My stay here was definitely a great experience. Abbie knows all the great places and tours, I absolutely recommend the Tortuga Island tour and Sushi Night is a must-have!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I had an adventure in Costa Rica that is beyond words, and this place was an integral part of all that. Great location, great vibe. Cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: only to get a mosquito net, no zinging noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I had intened to stay in Montezuma for only 2 or 3 days. I ended up there for 5. I think credit for that is mostly due to the AMAZING staff of Luz En El Cielo. The owner, Abby is so kind, and so Adorable. Her, along with the three main employees, Thomas, Ron and François were so much fun and so welcoming. I almost instantly felt like part of there little crew. All really down to earth people. They are all very professional but once the lights go out they will probably join you for fun times in town. and i cant forget to mention Juan, the security guard, who tried to help me practice my spanish. so sweat. There is a lot of deck space but the way it is set up is cosy enough that you quickly get to know fello travelers. It is $15 per day, which is about $3 more than the average hostel...BUT TOTALLY WORTH IT, if only for the free coffee...ALL DAY! and they make it good and strong unlike most hostels with there conservative, coffee flavored water. And i must mention the free breakfast. Every morning they served us delicious Gallo Pinto and some sort of fresh fruit. Once again...so worth the extra 3 bucks. And the location is perfect! its tucked just far enough into the trees that that you get to be right in the middle of so much wild life.! My first day there i saw like...30 of those little monkeys with the white around there faces at the same time. On several occasions i saw a group of maybe 10 howeler monkeys. Countless iguanas out on the road as well as those really pretty crabs that come off the mountain when it rains. Quails and geckos and so much more. It was what i would have imagined costa rica to be like. its not like that everywhere. It up on a hill so its a little more private but only about a 3 minute walk into the tiny town of Montezuma. It was super clean...including the kitchen and the showers! clean hostel showers are hard to find. the staff there is also eager to help you in any way they can which makes adventures, tours and future destinations much easyer. they booked by shuttle for me and everything. I wouldnt be suprised if i ended up back at this hostel at least one more time before i leave centeral america. It was a very memorable part of my adventure. Once again...Luz en el Cielo is the ONLY hostel in Montezuma that you need to know about.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I intended to only stay one night, but had such an amazing time that it became a couple of days. Luz en el Cielo reflects what a hostel should be... an inexpensive, basic living,and a meeting place for friendly people. Breakfast is included... the best gallo pinto and pineapple that I have had. The rooms and bathroom are clean and basic with fans and lights. The kitchen is orderly, and best of all, the people are very welcoming. You could always find someone that is up to do something whether it is waterfalls, beach, party or cooking a meal. The 5 min trek from the beach to Luz en el Cielo is a smallish hill but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Address: 50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the jungle. Luz en el Cielo B&B/Hostel is located just out of Montezuma's town center. Montezuma is a small beach town with a huge heart and a lot of charm. This newly renovated, classy hostel is great for budget travels, families and couples. We currently have three dorm rooms in the main lodge, one dorm cabina with it's own balcony and bathroom, each equipped with new mattress, sheets and furnishings. We also have newly built private cabinas as of January 2012. Enjoy using our wireless internet, communal kitchen and lounge. Breakfast is included with every stay, as well as coffee all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luz En El Cielo Eco-b&b/ Hotel Montezuma
Luz En El Cielo Eco-Bed And Breakfast/Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.