We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff were very kind.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Save Saved
You added Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Vista Cabina SPECIAL $65
Ranked #5 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The staff were very kind.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Located in the forest on the hill above Montezuma town, Luz en el Cielo is a small and personal hostel that provides a relaxing home for the budget traveller. I was impressed when I arrived to find out that the hostel provided mosquito nets for a small price, as I am always getting murdered with bites. The staff were very friendly and the manageress was very kind and helpful when I lost my credit card. The small nature of the hsotel makes it easy to meet the other guests and make friends. One unique feature of the hostel is having the wildlife on your doorstep as it wasn't uncommon to see monkeys, iguanas, or birds from the hotsel common area. The staff were also able to help me with any questions I had about Montezuma and for my onwaqrd travel to San Jose. I aslo enjoyed the cooked breakfast. Montezuma was one of the highlights of my time in Costa Rica and Luz etc contributed alot to that enjoymernt-

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    19
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
1
16
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

If you plan to stay in Montezuma you're gonna need some spare days to throw in! You're gonna get stuck there because it's a lovely hostel, always clean, very much cared for and run by a funny crew who won't even get annoyed by you asking for pineapple every single morning =) And if you're lucky you can get a private tour to the waterfalls...so if you're looking for relaxing, fun, party and a hostel family, it's a MUST GO!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

My stay here was definitely a great experience. Abbie knows all the great places and tours, I absolutely recommend the Tortuga Island tour and Sushi Night is a must-have!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I had an adventure in Costa Rica that is beyond words, and this place was an integral part of all that. Great location, great vibe. Cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: only to get a mosquito net, no zinging noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I had intened to stay in Montezuma for only 2 or 3 days. I ended up there for 5. I think credit for that is mostly due to the AMAZING staff of Luz En El Cielo. The owner, Abby is so kind, and so Adorable. Her, along with the three main employees, Thomas, Ron and François were so much fun and so welcoming. I almost instantly felt like part of there little crew. All really down to earth people. They are all very professional but once the lights go out they will probably join you for fun times in town. and i cant forget to mention Juan, the security guard, who tried to help me practice my spanish. so sweat. There is a lot of deck space but the way it is set up is cosy enough that you quickly get to know fello travelers. It is $15 per day, which is about $3 more than the average hostel...BUT TOTALLY WORTH IT, if only for the free coffee...ALL DAY! and they make it good and strong unlike most hostels with there conservative, coffee flavored water. And i must mention the free breakfast. Every morning they served us delicious Gallo Pinto and some sort of fresh fruit. Once again...so worth the extra 3 bucks. And the location is perfect! its tucked just far enough into the trees that that you get to be right in the middle of so much wild life.! My first day there i saw like...30 of those little monkeys with the white around there faces at the same time. On several occasions i saw a group of maybe 10 howeler monkeys. Countless iguanas out on the road as well as those really pretty crabs that come off the mountain when it rains. Quails and geckos and so much more. It was what i would have imagined costa rica to be like. its not like that everywhere. It up on a hill so its a little more private but only about a 3 minute walk into the tiny town of Montezuma. It was super clean...including the kitchen and the showers! clean hostel showers are hard to find. the staff there is also eager to help you in any way they can which makes adventures, tours and future destinations much easyer. they booked by shuttle for me and everything. I wouldnt be suprised if i ended up back at this hostel at least one more time before i leave centeral america. It was a very memorable part of my adventure. Once again...Luz en el Cielo is the ONLY hostel in Montezuma that you need to know about.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I intended to only stay one night, but had such an amazing time that it became a couple of days. Luz en el Cielo reflects what a hostel should be... an inexpensive, basic living,and a meeting place for friendly people. Breakfast is included... the best gallo pinto and pineapple that I have had. The rooms and bathroom are clean and basic with fans and lights. The kitchen is orderly, and best of all, the people are very welcoming. You could always find someone that is up to do something whether it is waterfalls, beach, party or cooking a meal. The 5 min trek from the beach to Luz en el Cielo is a smallish hill but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Having consulted Trip Advisor, we decided that this was the place to stay in Montezuma.

We had two beds in the cabin, that is apparently not quite finished yet. I realize that profits are everything but it would have been better to finish construction before packing it with bunks. The windows were without bars or screens so they could not be opened unless you wanted the room even more full of mosquitos and all of your stuff stolen. This wasn't so bad in itself, but the lack of a fan was inexcusable. When it's 30*C out and humid and the bunks are so close together that you can't sit on the edge of one without your knees touching the adjacent one, sleeping is difficult. To make things worse, the neighbours have two dogs, one large and one small that bark all night without so much as a rest. Earplugs do nothing for barking. I realize that this has nothing to do with the actual hostel but it is something that you should consider.

There were only two keys for the 8 bed cabin. I'm no math expert but I believe that 6 more are actually necessary. This means that you must track down a staff member or the security guard every time you want in. Or, just leave the cabin open to theft as was often the case.

The free breakfast is a small pile of beans and rice (you will be very tired of this by now if you've been in Costa Rica for more than a week), a single slice of toast and a banana. Bananas are about seven cents American each while a slice of toast works out to be about ten cents. The price of the rice and beans works out to be negligible when the quantity purchased is large -- maybe five cents a piece? So, for your $3-5 extra, you get a twenty-five cent breakfast. After staying at a number of hostels that include breakfast, we expected the standard "tea/coffee with unlimited toast and fruit," which is also a healthy breakfast.

One of the nice features of the cabin is that it has running water, as was shown to us when we checked in. It even has a bathroom outside the door. Unfortunantly the water is turned off every night, so once whatever is in the lines is gone, that's it. There's nothing as nice as starting your day with half a shower and then having to wait for a different shower to rinse off the soap, before you have some dry, flavourless rice and beans for breakfast. It wouldn't be so bad if you'd been able to sleep through the stifling heat in the dead calm with two dogs barking close-by the night before.

We changed hostels to one that offered a private double with private bath for less than the cost of the dorm. The room was even cleaned daily.

Luz en el Cielo does have potential. If the cabin were modified to have some type of airflow, whether it be windows that can be opened or even a fan, it would be a lot better. As for the dogs, maybe an arrangement can be reached with their owners or something. All of Central America has barking dogs at night, but none matched the consistency and volume of these two that actually sounded like they were coming from a nearby accomodation. More breakfast should be available, perhaps even a bit of variety. Bananas may be the cheapest fruit but there are others that aren't far off. If the water must be turned off nightly, at least inform people. Mosquito nets are necessary when staying in the cabin (a staff member suggested we wear repellent to bed AND get a net). It feels like a rip-off to have to pay extra for them.

The staff are friendly and helpful, even if they are high all the time. The kitchen is nice, open and clean, as is the common area. There are monkeys in the trees that you don't see if you stay in town. I can't speak for the main accomodation area, as it may not share the problems that plague the cabin.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiveLaughLove000, Manager at Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Since your stay, multiple improvements have been made here at Luz. We now have fans in the cabina. Breakfast has been revised to include eggs, a variety fresh fruit, toast, coffee and gallo pinto (a traditional Costa Rican breakfast). Our policy regarding keys is designed for security purposes, as well as guest convenience (nothing to forget at the beach, waterfall, etc.). Providing a safe, comfortable, relaxing atmosphere is one of our goals at Luz en el Cielo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Address: 50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the jungle. Luz en el Cielo B&B/Hostel is located just out of Montezuma's town center. Montezuma is a small beach town with a huge heart and a lot of charm. This newly renovated, classy hostel is great for budget travels, families and couples. We currently have three dorm rooms in the main lodge, one dorm cabina with it's own balcony and bathroom, each equipped with new mattress, sheets and furnishings. We also have newly built private cabinas as of January 2012. Enjoy using our wireless internet, communal kitchen and lounge. Breakfast is included with every stay, as well as coffee all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En El Cielo Eco-Bed And Breakfast/Hostel
Luz En El Cielo Eco-b&b/ Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.