We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Restaurant

Ylang Ylang Restaurant
10-12 minute walk on the beach north of Montezuma | at the Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+(506)2642-0636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegan, Vegetarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ylang Ylang Restaurant is a joyful place... your meals are prepared especially for you with the freshest of ingredients and caring, friendly service. A calm atmosphere and delicious food awaits you...We are proud to serve mainly organic produce in all of our dishes.Our restaurant caters to seafood, vegan and raw food lovers. We also serve great chicken dishes, but do not serve red meat. Please see our online menus for more details.We are always willing to accommodate your needs, just ask at the time of booking.The restaurant is open to non-hotel guests as well.Great Happy Hour from 3-6pm everyday
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“One of the very best in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at the Beach Resort and therefore either dinner or lunch is included in the rate (as well as their sumptuous breakfast...). The deal: you choose whatever you like from their menu. It's that simple. AND, no matter what you choose: it's extremely delicious. Their chicken dishes (there's no beef on the menu), the various seafood dishes, the tagliatelle. We've literally tasted it all within the three days and each was of equally high standard: in its presentation as well as its taste and aroma. The meal as well comes with a choice of very tasty "naturales", that is fruit juices. No matter what you'll have, you'll love it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    11
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a fabulous location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The menu has many interesting choices and we were pleased with everything we tried. Wonderful service, the food was pleasantly presented, and the view was fabulous. I only wish we could have stayed longer so I could have tried all the items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My girl and I stayed at Ylang Ylang (which was overall Amazing) and we assumed since breakfast and dinner were included with our room, the food would be just "ok". Well we were very pleasantly surprised as the food was very good. There are not a lot of places in Costa Rica that offer food this great, especially in the small community of Montezuma. Not to mention that the scenery from the restaurant is spectacular, the beautiful landscape, the sound of the crashing waves and the iguanas and humming birds out every morning forging for their own breakfast.... Ohhh and the staff is absolutely perfect! It is uncommon in even the finest restaurants in the US to be accommodated with service of this standard. Every single staff member strives to make every single guest feel welcome and very comfortable. WE WILL BE BACK, WITHOUT QUESTION!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarcoles, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food in the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great service, great food, great scenery, great value! Breakfast and dinner were included with our room. Will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Ylang Ylang is probably the fanciest restaurant in Montezuma, but still suitable for families. It's outside of the town with a bit of a walk along the beach to get there. The service was great. They have a vegan menu with many delicious choices! Beautiful view of the ocean from the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ylang Ylang Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ylang Ylang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.