We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Restaurant

Ylang Ylang Restaurant
10-12 minute walk on the beach north of Montezuma | at the Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Ylang Ylang Restaurant is a joyful place... your meals are prepared especially for you with the freshest of ingredients and caring, friendly service. A calm atmosphere and delicious food awaits you...We are proud to serve mainly organic produce in all of our dishes.Our restaurant caters to seafood, vegan and raw food lovers. We also serve great chicken dishes, but do not serve red meat. Please see our online menus for more details.We are always willing to accommodate your needs, just ask at the time of booking.The restaurant is open to non-hotel guests as well.Great Happy Hour from 3-6pm everyday
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of the very best in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at the Beach Resort and therefore either dinner or lunch is included in the rate (as well as their sumptuous breakfast...). The deal: you choose whatever you like from their menu. It's that simple. AND, no matter what you choose: it's extremely delicious. Their chicken dishes (there's no beef on the menu), the various seafood dishes, the tagliatelle. We've literally tasted it all within the three days and each was of equally high standard: in its presentation as well as its taste and aroma. The meal as well comes with a choice of very tasty "naturales", that is fruit juices. No matter what you'll have, you'll love it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank HajoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a fabulous location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The menu has many interesting choices and we were pleased with everything we tried. Wonderful service, the food was pleasantly presented, and the view was fabulous. I only wish we could have stayed longer so I could have tried all the items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank LizB7002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My girl and I stayed at Ylang Ylang (which was overall Amazing) and we assumed since breakfast and dinner were included with our room, the food would be just "ok". Well we were very pleasantly surprised as the food was very good. There are not a lot of places in Costa Rica that offer food this great, especially in the small community of Montezuma. Not to mention that the scenery from the restaurant is spectacular, the beautiful landscape, the sound of the crashing waves and the iguanas and humming birds out every morning forging for their own breakfast.... Ohhh and the staff is absolutely perfect! It is uncommon in even the finest restaurants in the US to be accommodated with service of this standard. Every single staff member strives to make every single guest feel welcome and very comfortable. WE WILL BE BACK, WITHOUT QUESTION!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarcoles, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food in the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great service, great food, great scenery, great value! Breakfast and dinner were included with our room. Will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank USexpat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Ylang Ylang is probably the fanciest restaurant in Montezuma, but still suitable for families. It's outside of the town with a bit of a walk along the beach to get there. The service was great. They have a vegan menu with many delicious choices! Beautiful view of the ocean from the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammywarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ylang Ylang Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ylang Ylang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing