We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wooden rooms in main building, bathroom without water” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moctezuma

Save Saved
You added Hotel Moctezuma to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Moctezuma
Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
1 review
“Wooden rooms in main building, bathroom without water”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a good feeling when we saw our room. Nice ocean view, wooden and big room for good price- 3 nights for 100 Usd. We were suprisec that it was not possible to wash our hands - no water. I asked what is the problem and they explained me that it is in whole tiwn and that they will fix it. We have to wait couple hours. After six hours we still did not have any water. They gave us a key from another room in the building across the street and we took the shower there... But just really little bit of water came out. They told us that tomorrow it will be everything ok. But it was the same story. Only the water stoped to run while I was taking the shower.
And then the big noice from the bar nearby till late in the night.
And it does not smell very good.
I will definitly not advise. You will have nice room but no toilet and shower and will be forced to run across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This place was a total let down. We didn't have much time to plan so showed up in town without a place to stay. We walked around and this place was the more affordable at $60 a night but such a rip off. The bathroom was tiny, old and dirty with no hot water. There were no towels in the room only to find out when we returned the key that you could have a clean towel with a deposit. The music and noise from the bar on the street lasted all night. Really the worst night of the trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed one night after a taxi dropped us off there telling us it was a good central hotel. The safe was broken, the lock on the door was broken, there were no blankets to be found, the showerhead had exposed electrical wires and there were cockroaches in the room.

It bordered on impossible to sleep due to the street noise. There are far better places to stay in Montezuma for the same or less money than this hotel. After one day we moved up the hill to the luna llena and had three days of quiet bliss.

We learned not to trust a taxi recommnedation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I stayed here two nights. I paid $24/night for a double bed, cold shower, and torn window screens. Basic, and that would have been fine except that the price was first quoted me at $20 and nothing was done about my request to have screen fixed--important because of the number of mosquitoes here. Also the location is extremely noisy. Other places further out of town (walking distance) are better for same price or less.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moctezuma

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Moctezuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moctezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;