We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions

El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions
Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 8385 7919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 attractions in Montezuma
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: El Pinto Expeditions offers daily specialized private horseback rides in Cabuya(near Montezuma). Beach, Jungle and Overnight Moon rides. The horses are family to us, so we love and take good care of them. They are well suited to trail riding, and we care very much about matching people with the right horse. Our speciality is beginner to intermediate level. Marvin gives instructions on techniques for safety & comfort for both the rider & the horse.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

What an amazing experience. Our guide Marvin was extremely helpful, professional and friendly. My gf and I did the evening trip. Riding up and down the trail can be intimidating but if you listen to your guide and trust the horse, you will be fine.

Thank you again Marvin!!

- John and Nicole (NYC)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrebonne, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great activity in a romantic setting with a great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I went for an afternoon ride on the Cabuya beach. It was very romantic and we genuinely had a great time with our guide, Marvin. We had already done horseback riding before and this was one of the funnest we ever did. Marvin is a lot of fun, knows so much about the wildlife and the history of Costa Rica and speaks of it with great passion. If you love horses and animals in general, go with El Pinto. Marvin loves his horses and it shows, they were the most healthy looking horses we saw in the whole country and they are very obedient, easy to ride. Thanks Marvin, if we ever go back, we will go on a different tour for sure!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Doing it Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

There is a good reason why Trip Advisor ranks El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions #1 out of 8 attractions in the Montezuma area. My husband and I had the good fortune to ride with Marvin on his beautiful, well-trained horses in February 2014. As a horse owner myself, it was important to choose a riding company where the horses were in good health and well cared for. We also wanted horses we could connect with, and a great desire to see the land beyond the roadways. Marvin took us through the hills and into the forest trails beyond. From start to finish the trip was absolutely magical. My horse, Cookie, was sensible and responsive, and my husband’s horse, Niso, was equally gentle and kind. Marvin let us go at our own pace, guiding, and advising us how best to position ourselves on the horses for the hills. We stopped a couple of times to rest the horses and soak in the beautiful vistas that one can only see from the back of a horse. The scenery was breath taking! The last stop was in a shady glade with fresh water and pineapple for all of us, horses too! We so enjoyed talking to Marvin and seeing his love for his horses and the land. It was an unforgettable experience that we would recommend to anyone who truly cares about horses and craves an intimate glimpse into the Costa Rica beyond the roads. Thank you Marvin! You are doing it right!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I are both experienced riders. We have ridden all over Costa Rica and Marvin of El Pinto Expeditions has been our absolute favorite. He is a true horseman. His horses are very well cared for, extremely responsive and trained. He really loves his horses. His rides are private and he accommodate us with both rides exactly what we wanted. We galloped on the beach and took a pleasure ride through the mountains. Both time we had a rest and snack on fresh pineapple which was also shared with his horses. If you are planning to ride with Marvin we suggest to book Marvin directly, don't go through a middleman because he has to pay referral fee to them and it's much better if the money goes towards his horses as the hay and grain is extremely expansive in Costa Rica. Thanks Marvin for the enjoyable experience. Ria and Jerry

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Marvin of El Pinto Expeditions is fabulous!! I enjoyed a 3 hour ride on the beach engaged in great and interesting conversation with Marvin. We stopped along the way to give the horses and myself a rest and indulging on a fresh pineapple and water which was shared with the horses. Marvin is extremely passionate about his horses and his clients and take GREAT care of both. If you choose to go horse back riding contact Marvin directly, don't go through a tour company. Marvin will also help you plan the perfect horseback riding experience for you, just tell him what you are hoping for....a short hour ride, and picnic on the beach etc. Let it be know that Marvin will do nothing to put his horses in and sort of danger or harm. He is such a caring man and will do his best to accommodate you. You will love this experience!!
Thank you Marvin,
Sandra

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions to your Saves list