We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good job Marvin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions

El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions
Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 8492 3249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Montezuma
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: El Pinto Expeditions offers daily specialized private horseback rides,overnight moon rides and stays at our farm near Montezuma. The horses are family to us, so we love and take good care of them. They are well suited to trail riding, and we care very much about matching people with the right horse. Our speciality is beginner to intermediate level. Marvin gives instructions on techniques for safety & comfort for both the rider & the horse.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good job Marvin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Tour was awesome! Marvin is very knowledgeable with his carefully selected horses. He also takes big pride in staying a small business, sticking to private tours (max 3 people) and only 1 tour per day maximum. This is good for his horses as they are not overworked.

Marvin brought us in the mountains and this provided nice scenic views of the surrounding wildness. We also stopped half way through to let the horses rest a bit and shared a pineapple (seems like horses like them too!)

We booked our tour with Marvin in a small agency down Montezuma beach. We tried contacting him directly but could not find the info online before actually getting to Montezuma. I think this is the best way to proceed to book the tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Sweet Time Horseback Riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Marvin operates a fantastic horseback tour. He is quite intuitive and completely knowledgable about his horses. Since we were horse riding novices, he gave clear, concise instructions on how to steer and stop, and we were off on our adventure! Marvin's horses are very sweet with playful personalities. Marvin is very flexible and he will do what he can to meet your expectations. Thank you for a superb experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

While on our honeymoon in Costa Rica we spent a morning with Marvin and his beautiful horses and it was one of the best things we did during our whole trip. The ride itself was relaxing and beautiful complete with some adorable local dogs coming along for a run and a super refreshing dip in the river. Marvin clearly loves his horses (which was VERY important to me) I got to ride his daughter's horse Cookie. The conversation was great and we felt like old friends. Towards the end we stopped into a little saloon where Marvin treated us to a cold beer and once returning to his place we stayed and chatted for a bit. It really was a pleasant experience and since we don't know if we'll be back to enjoy it again ourselves we hope our review will help persuade others to take advantage of a kind, gentle soul and his sweet horses. Thanks again Marvin!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definite Yes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was a very enjoyable experience. Marvin is a wonderful guide, very knowledgeable about the area and very thoughtful of his horses. I am an experienced rider but I was perfectly happy to take the slow walk through the countryside and enjoy the flora, fauna and the vistas. Beginner riders will feel perfectly safe in his company and on his horses. Pura vida Marvin. Mi encanta

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The only horseback tour worth considering....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Marvin is hands-down the best horseback tour guide ever! My young daughter (who was nearly four at the time) and I had the most amazing tour with El Pinto last year in Montezuma and hope to return again someday. I highly recommend Marvin because he was so attentive to our safety and comfort, while entertaining us with friendly conversation, plus lots of info about the sights we encountered along the way. My daughter still remembers our horse "Niso" who carried us both with ease; steady- footed and calm. It was her first time on horseback...what a memorable experience for us both. A gracious host (who also speaks perfect English), Marvin offered refreshments when we stopped for a break, slicing up a fresh pineapple for us AND the horses to enjoy! Don't bother looking anywhere else for a horseback tour; choose El Pinto and you won't regret it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pinto Horseback Riding Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.