We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Falls

Montezuma Falls
Entrance just south of main town road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 attractions in Montezuma
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Ok, this is actually harder to get to then it seems. We got started and had a local guy show us the way for a tip we gladly paid.

The waterfall is absolutely amazing - the water is very comfortable and swimmable. The currents are a little strong, but manageable. There are a couple other falls higher up we did not go to, we were told they are smaller and less impressive.

Plan to spend a few hours from start to finish, and bring water shoes - the rocks are very slippery!

Do not miss this FREE (unless you want to tip a local guide to help you out) activity if you are in Montezuma!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    69
    11
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Montezuma Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great free activity in Montezuma. We went to the falls on a few different occasions and they never disappointed. Pack a snack, towel, and spend a hot day there hiking up to the different falls and swimming. I would recommend wearing Chacos or Tevas that you can hike in and also wear in the water.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best thing we did here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I were recently in Montezuma and hiked to the three waterfalls. This was a completely awesome time for a variety of reasons, the first of which is that it is a free activity. It is recommended you wear good shoes as this is not a trivial hike. There are several guides waiting to scoop up confused looking tourists for a fee (this ended up happening to us kind of by accident) but it is completely possible to do this hike on your own, and I wish that we had. The best thing to do is get some local advice before going and then you won't need a guide, Armando at the Bakery Cafe told us exactly how to get to the three waterfalls. Once at the top you can swim in the plunge pools, jump off some of the rocks, and jump off of the small and medium-height waterfalls (note, the first waterfall you come to is the big one and several people have died trying to jump this one, therefore don't do it). Like I said before, this can be a free activity and regardless it is a must do because of the beautiful scenery and the fun you can have at the waterfalls.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Not far away from the intersection near amor del mar in montezuma, the road leading to the waterfall is not long, but there are no signs so it is better to study the way first. When we were there it was quiet and very private, hence amazing. FYI, parking there costs money

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“HIGHLIGHT OF MONTEZUMA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was one of the coolest experiences ever. Swim under the big waterfall and the water drops are floating its stunning... And with the force of the waterfall over your head, sun beaming through and surrounded by jungle. Walk around and up above to the top waterfall. It's smaller (around 14 metres) so you can safely jump off that. I loved this waterfall so sooo much

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Falls also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Montezuma Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Montezuma Falls to your Saves list