We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be carefull, read my advice...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Falls

Montezuma Falls
Entrance just south of main town road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Montezuma
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Be carefull, read my advice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hello people.... I have been there many times and I have good recommendations for you ....
Travel to montezuma from San Jose is great because you can take a ferry (big boat) inclusived in the ticket bus, its 1hour and half in the Golfo de Nicoya, see the animls and island in the ocean... It's pretty nice, when you can the beach, you will find a Hippie town, very smart but good hotels, restaurants and supermarkets, a club too ! The beach is nice but dangerous, the waves are really strong.... You have to visit the waterfall but be careful specially in may p, agust, November, October pbecause it's raining months and the water is too light... In summer the water is clear and beautiful but after its brown and dark... Thanks

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    87
    16
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“The falls are spectacular.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What is not to like about one of natures beauties. A trip to the falls are a "must do" when visiting Montezuma.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Fun day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Perfect alternative to the beach. The waterfall in itself is not as impressive, but jumping from high points, and hiking for extra adventure and extra ponds makes a day at the waterfalls totally worth it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“an adventure to reach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It's a treacherous but fun hike to reach the falls. You can climb among the rocks in the river, some of which are very slippery, or you can climb along the side of the river, on a dirt path. There are still some rocks you have to climb over, but it's definitely manageable. I would definitely recommend multipurpose sandals like Keens Newport. There are three levels of the waterfall. The second level is the one most people jump from and swim in. We didn't know about the third level so we never tried to get there. The water was not very clear on the day we went, but lots of people were swimming.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go with a guide to hike to top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a guide, thank god. This hike to the very top is intense and well worth it. Be careful, this is not for the out of shape and "fragile". You're going to slip and get dirty but you get to jump in the falls when you're done and cool off! Be careful of the current-just watch it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Falls also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Montezuma Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.