We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Falls

Montezuma Falls
Entrance just south of main town road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Montezuma
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Carlos was our affable guide. I don't think we could have made it safely to the top without him.. He lives in Cabuya, but his grandfather runs the parking lot at the base of the trail, so if you ask him, he will get Carlos there to guide you. We hiked all the way to the top and did some swimming. I would do it again in a hearbeat. I can't imagine anyone making the trip to Montezuma without doing the falls.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    77
    12
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

as it is only a short walk from town it's a worthwhile side trip but don't expect too much. The place was packed with locals when we were there. The water was cool and refreshing but it was just another waterfall.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recommended with a guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I hiked the trail with my daughter who was almost four at the time. We could not have found the way without the help of a friendly guide named Carlos, who helped us across the rough spots, even carrying my daughter on his back much of the way. She loved it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relax or take it to the next level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hiking up to the Montezuma falls is a must for anyone visiting the Nicoya Peninsula. I believe it was my favorite part of my trip. You get to hike up a creek to a small pond at the base of a waterfall that is great for swimming, laying out, or jumping off rocks [with caution]. The water is great, and the falls are beautiful. If you want to take it to the next level, hike up to the top of the second waterfall to find another beautiful oasis with a rope swing and ability to dive off the waterfall [so much fun!]. You won't regret making the hike.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
“zipline your way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

we did the zipline tour. I'd recommend that. Much better than hiking the whole way. Jumping in the pool of the waterfall is so fun. very warm.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Falls also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Montezuma Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.