We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Falls

Montezuma Falls
Entrance just south of main town road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

as it is only a short walk from town it's a worthwhile side trip but don't expect too much. The place was packed with locals when we were there. The water was cool and refreshing but it was just another waterfall.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    120
    20
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recommended with a guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I hiked the trail with my daughter who was almost four at the time. We could not have found the way without the help of a friendly guide named Carlos, who helped us across the rough spots, even carrying my daughter on his back much of the way. She loved it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relax or take it to the next level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hiking up to the Montezuma falls is a must for anyone visiting the Nicoya Peninsula. I believe it was my favorite part of my trip. You get to hike up a creek to a small pond at the base of a waterfall that is great for swimming, laying out, or jumping off rocks [with caution]. The water is great, and the falls are beautiful. If you want to take it to the next level, hike up to the top of the second waterfall to find another beautiful oasis with a rope swing and ability to dive off the waterfall [so much fun!]. You won't regret making the hike.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
“zipline your way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

we did the zipline tour. I'd recommend that. Much better than hiking the whole way. Jumping in the pool of the waterfall is so fun. very warm.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex County, NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Hike and Beautiful Waterfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a must-do when in the Montezuma area!

First, let me caution anyone who wants to do the entire hike with children. I advise against it due to steep inclines, poor paths, and rocky terrain. Our 12 year-old was fine, but our 5 year-old could not have done it without help from Carlos (see below). We were told by some people at our resort that a 5 year-old can handle the hike, but they must have been talking about another hike at another waterfall!

When we arrived we were approached by Carlos, a local guide who hangs out in the parking lot at the Falls and obviously waits for tourists to pull in who have no idea where to go and what to see. OK, so we bit and "hired" him to take us from beginning to end. Well, I don't typically fall for this sort of ploy, but I am glad we went with him. He helped take us through the hike, to the falls and the pools, and back out the other side (apparently we took the hard route). Most importantly, he carried our 5 year-old on his back much of the way and personally helped her on the difficult paths. We spent half the day on the trails, at the falls, and swimming in the pools under the watchful eye of our new friend Carlos.

Anyway, this is a very cool and beautiful place to visit. The hike is rigorous and the falls and natural pools are beautiful. Our 12 year-old enjoyed jumping from some of the rocks into one of the pools and we all enjoyed splashing around in the middle of nature.

Great time!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Falls also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Montezuma Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.