We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montezuma Falls is best in the Green Season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Falls

Montezuma Falls
Entrance just south of main town road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Montezuma
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Montezuma Falls is best in the Green Season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Clearest, freshest water ever is at the end of the Green Season when it is full and magical. Know that there are other amazing falls nearby with less people. Walk up Rio Lahas for an hour or so and magic awaits.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    76
    12
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Worth the Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

La Cascada Montezuma was beautiful! It was a very short, but rather challenging hike getting to the falls involving jumping from rock to rock in the river - but that's all part of the adventure. My friends and I almost turned around because we thought we'd reached the waterfall five minutes into the hike - but keep walking! You'll know when you see it. It's a perfect little swimming hole and all the locals jump off rocks into it. A great morning adventure!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely falls! We went there through zip line trip. Very very fun! The hike up the hill was challenging but not impossible.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Easy to find, there is a map of Montezuma in the town. You don't need a guide, but remember to take swim wear and decent shoes to walk in, we find a pair of beach shoes perfectly fine. Follow the course of the stream, and enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice Falls... Use caution... No guide needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Beatiful setting. The lower falls are lovely. We opted not to go up to the 2nd falls. The risk outweighed the reward. It is a "scramble" up to the very steep slope and all things considered it looked pretty tough. I recommend wearing sturdy sandals likkeepers or sneakers. Flip flops look like a tough way to do this hike. Some trash at the first falls, beer cans etc.
You do not need a guide to take this trail. It's not clearly marked, but it's impossible to get lost going to the first falls. We did encounter an aggressive guy in the parking lot trying to sell his guide service... DO NOT hire a guide for this walk. You pay a small fee to an older gentleman who seems to run the parking lot.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Falls also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Montezuma Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.