We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Falls

Montezuma Falls
Entrance just south of main town road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great spot to cool off. I've been there twice and both times there were capuchin monkeys near the parking lot. We enjoyed hiking up to the waterfalls above to play on the rope swing and dive off the smaller waterfalls.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    133
    26
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have travelled extensively in CR and have seen some amazing waterfalls. I love waterfalls and my goal is to see as many as I can in this beautiful country and beyond, but Montezuma was somewhat disappointing compared to the others. Parking was easy and we felt reassured that there is a "parking attendant" that you pay ($2). We enjoyed the hike and it really was not as strenuous as some with the big hike uphill on the return. Take plenty of water as it gets pretty hot here. We highly recommend the right footwear- something with a tread and waterproof as your feet will get wet. You do have to clamor over some rocks and scale along a rock wall holding onto a rope, which is exciting. My 12 year old loved this part. It is unfortunate that visitors to the waterfall area do not take the trash out that they bring in. There was a good bit of litter. The river was pretty with areas you can sit and rest and soak your feet/cool off. Be sure to take the upper "trail" as it is easier than trying to take the hike the entire way up the river. We saw some people struggling by taking that route. Be prepared to yield for other hikers in and out of the falls. The falls are a major tourist attraction in this area, and as such were crowded. It was impossible to take photos without having multiple strangers in them. If you are looking for the REAL Costa Rica, this is not it. If you are looking for tranquility and relaxation or are a couple looking for a romantic interlude- this is not it. If you have not seen a large waterfall, and this is your only opportunity, then it will seem more extraordinary to you.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Local know-how”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

To see what can be done, come on a Sunday when local teens show how to scale the canyon wall and dive 60 feet from the side of the lower falls, plus how to get under the falls from the pool. To view the upper falls together with the lower falls, take a branch off the path to the upper falls. You need to be willing to go up and down ropes to get between the lower and upper falls. My favorite time of day is to arrive around 11, when the pool area is sunlit and not crowded. Because the lower falls have not worn down the rock, the 75-foot falls hit a variety of small ledges on the way down, providing a modestly diffuse shower that's delightful to swim under. The path to the lower falls goes along the river at water level at the start and finish, but in the middle heads up a few feet for a more trouble-free trail. For those not up to a careful hike to the falls, a short walk from the road leads to a lower cascade and pools that are great for a cool picnic and a dip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hiked to the falls twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Make sure to visit not only the lower falls, but the higher falls as well. Good jump for the adventurous types at the higher falls.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is stunning. Bring some good shoes and your Camera. If you're not afraid of hights you even can jump down at the second Waterfall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Falls also viewed

 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Montezuma Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.