We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Falls

Montezuma Falls
Entrance just south of main town road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It's a bit an adventureous path but no so difficult, I saw children there.
So lovely area, so warm water, you can jump from beneath the waterfall.
There are 3 waterfalls in total but we stay to the first one and enjoyed it so much.
There are local guys who propose to help and could show you easily all the spots for few dollars. It's definitly worth it or wait that someone else book them.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    124
    22
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Try the zip lines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great and long zip lines with a nice break swimming in the falls. Wonderful views and time. Nice experience to try but a bit expensive (40$/pers)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A bit of a hike but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A bit of a hike (about 1-2km) but well worth it! We went early in the day (8ish) in October (green season) and had the place to ourselves! The only fee that was associated with this was for parking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great hike! You have to do a little scramble to get to the upper falls. We did a zipline and ended up at the upper falls and pool

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Be fit to travel to falls”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you start at the bridge before entering the town be aware. My husband and I were greeted by a tico. His name to me is "Golom" from the "Lord of the rings" movies. He said he would show us the "way". He scooted around on the slippery rocks like nothing. HE HAD CROCS ON. Get CROCS with bottom soles that look like something to clean dirty dishes with. He never slipped and actually took them off and had me step on them in very odd angle spots. My expensive Keen sandels slipped badly. The" way", was insane. Major slippery rocks, at different inclines, crossing the river, scaling rocks. If you are not fit take a different path to see the falls. We made it to the 80 ft. fall. My husband dived off a cliff he had to climb up, but said it was insane and could barely catch his breath when he was done. It was beautiful. No Monkeys. They always say " you'll see monkeys" Wrong. We were there for ten days, we saw them twice. Although, you did hear them around. Obviously, you then had to reverse your course and go back the same way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Falls also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Montezuma Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.