We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of our best restaurant in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Main Rd, In Front the Hotel Down Town Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Israeli, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
Perpignan, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“one of our best restaurant in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

Good food, creativity, at a very reasonable price. Friendly service. Our of our best experience in Costa Rica.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    51
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southwest England
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Yes, yes, yes...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This was the best food we had in four months of travelling. Where to begin? You don't expect to find creative sophisticated, yet uncomplicated, un fussy cuisine like this in a small Costa Rica tourist town. There are several outstandingly good restaurants in this foodie friendly town, but Puggos stands out by far as the best.
The menu would stand out in London. The cooking is so creative, uses so many herbs and spices in just the right way. It reminded us of the best Israeli and Palestinian and Turkish cooking. The flavours of the veggies and fish are enhanced by the spices...so unusual in bland South American cuisine.
This is food made with love by someone who really understands what good food is about.
Service is amazing in this very popular place. If they are busy, the waiters will sort you a table in ten minutes or so...worth the wait!
As well as amazing starters and mains we had a marvellous sweet...white chocolate and tahini parfait. Can you believe this in Montezuma?
And there is a fabulous sushi bar in the restaurant as well. really special.
We went several times and it would be a regular favourite in London...if only Puggos were there!
GO....GO....GO!

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobano, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Marroccean stew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

This is at least what I think I ate. Delicious, thanks for the pleasure, you have to try this.
Peter

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I am the pickiest eater but just went all in on this place and it was amazing! The alcohol selection is a little limited, but the blended drinks more than make up for it!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Top choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Puggo's is one of the better choices in Montezuma. The sushi is awesome. As are the cooked menu items. You can bring your own beer.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puggo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.