We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Main Rd, In Front the Hotel Down Town Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: International, Sushi, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
Parrita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We ate here for dinner last night and the food was delicious. I ordered a sandwich and my husband had fish, and both were great. The service was fast, and the waiter was very friendly. The bread and dip they serve prior to your meal is so delicious! We will definitely be back to try their sushi before we leave!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    71
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants in Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had sushi, grilled fish and cocktails here on our last night in Montezuma and were only sad that we had not discovered this restaurant earlier in our trip. The food was fresh, delicious and beautifully arranged on our plates. The waiter was very attentive and made great suggestions for our meal and tropical cocktails. We also enjoyed the music and the atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here while visiting montezuma for a week. We LOVED it! The hummus and falafel was absolutely delicious and it came with homemade bread. Husband got crispy tuna with an Asian salad thing. He said it was amazing. Prices were good. Service was so slow because one guy was running the whole place. That's pretty impressive but it took forever to get out of there. But sooo worth it :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food, location, price... just took a while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I'd heard about the burgeoning chef community in this small tucked-away town and was anxious to try it for myself. Ate here with friends the first night after arriving in Montezuma, and was not disappointed. Food was outstanding, and a pretty good value. All of us were impressed with our different dishes.

Only bad thing I could say is that it took a while to get our food, probably 35+ minutes after ordering.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad food and bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Sorry to say this, in the restaurant was a lot of people the waiter was the bartender and cashier. I order sushi not good at all, we spend 2 hours and a half waiting for food, we order an appetizer and main course, between them was a lot of time. Sushi and hummus at same place mmm wird...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puggo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.