We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place in Montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Main Rd, In Front the Hotel Down Town Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: International, Sushi, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
Palm Bay
1 review
“Our favorite place in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was one of our favorite places for dinner while staying in Montezuma. The Morocco Fish Stew is stellar and I would highly recommend it. The chef/owner has created a wonderfully eclectic menu that is fresh, varied, and creative. The menu even includes sushi that is incredibly fresh and delicious. If you are visiting Montezuma, be sure to eat at this restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    67
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Ended up eating here 4 out of 7 nights in Montezuma. Super friendly staff. Laid back vibe, excellent food at very affordable prices. Try the lemon/mint smoothie with vodka. Delicious homemade bread served with most meals.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a must-eat-here in Montezuma. Simply the best hummus & bread I've ever had and the sushi bar is top notch too. Being vegan can Be tricky sometimes but there was plenty on the menu for me plus a great selection of seafood and meats. An absolute highlight of of my trip. And service was 5 star. Our first visit it was a full house with only one waiter on the floor- he was AMAZING and had everyone looked after. The second time we wanted to try something different on the menu but the lure of that hummus! The owner gladly accommodated us with a complimentary serve as an entree- where can I get that kind of service in Australia! Highly recommend this gorgeous rustic restaurant in Montezuma.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
“One of the best food ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Simply, if you miss this restaurant and its food you miss one of my best experiences from whole Central America! Food and service are excelent - by far better than the rest of Montezuma and other restaurants in Costa Rica. Sushi is just a cherry on the cake - I had it three times in 6 days.
Warm regards to the staff!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food, good vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We liked the laid back feeling of Puggo's and thought the food was really good. We tried a few different things on the menu and all were flavorful and delicious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puggo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.