We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Main Rd, In Front the Hotel Down Town Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Sushi, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
1 review
“The best food in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The best restaurant in Costa Rica , the food is delicious , the service is very good and the restaurant was full and it was my best meal in Costa Rica .i came back many times and every meal was fantasy ....

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxibux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

One of the best food we had for a long time! We eat there a few times trying different dishes. There where all amazing : the hummus with home made bread, hamburger , eggplant with chess we also tried the sushi and a wonderful dessert with thini and white chocolate. Yami!!
Try the lemon mint smoothie. Very Refreshing.
The chef maya was so nice and creative and the service and atmosphere were great.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We enjoyed an asian noodle bowel. All the other food on the menu looked great. Nice selection of sushi. Doesn't sell beer, only wine or one kind of smoothie

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What we heard and what we got were vastly different!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Several travelers recommended Puggos as we strolled through Montezuma. I'm guessing it would depend on what was ordered whether or not you would like the food but our service was so bad it was difficult to be very impressed by the food. Our waitress seemed shocked that I didn't want my Cabernet Sauvignon served warm. I suggested that "room temperature" actually meant cave temperature (or 56 degrees) and had to practically beg her to chill it slightly for me. There were 5 of us, including a child, and we were served last in the entire restaurant. We didn't order anything that could've taken a long time to prepare. Half the party ordered sushi and seared ahi, one ordered the special and I got chicken schnitzel (which I assumed would be like fried chicken). Our food took over an hour to come. By the time it arrived our 7 year old was ready to fall asleep! My food was so over done it was inedible and the waitress didn't seem to notice that my plate was pretty much untouched. When we asked for our bill it took 15 minutes to prepare and they informed us they didn't take credit cards. Signs should be posted or notice made up front. I was a little leary of sanitary conditions because the restroom had no running water: another red flag!
Our children were impressed, we definitely were not!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The food is unbelievable. Yummy, tasty, perfect. The bread is to die for, the lamb is so great, the kabobs...the meat cigars! And their vodka w lemonade (or viceversa) was so refreshing!
The food was so slow though and the waiter was sort of rude.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SandraPortocarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing