We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Montezuma!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Main Rd, In Front the Hotel Down Town Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: International, Sushi, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best in Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very tasty food in a relaxed environment. We went here several times and were not disappointed, on the contrary we were very pleased.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    77
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Among all the excellent restaurants in Montezuma, this one gets our repeat business whenever we visit. Our server (she is a teacher from Toronto but I have forgotten her name!) was incredible, she made great recommendations and treated us like royalty. The menu varies from sushi to mediterranian, and the steaks are fantastic. Good food, relaxed ambience and the Beatles playlist one evening created just the right vibe.Order the basil or mint lemonade--unforgettable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Never expected an Israeli-Mediterranean restaurant in Montezuma! This place was superb. I had the Moroccan fish stew (spicy and really flavorful), which came with a salad and fresh focaccia, and we shared an order of the ceviche. Not the cheapest of the options in town, but completely worth every penny. Everything was cooked and seasoned perfectly. And, remember to check out the awesome bathroom fixtures!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty mystery meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Based on previous reviews, I was compelled to order the hummus platter and my husband had the kebabs. The hummus was topped with carmelized onions and mushrooms which added substance and meatiness. They make their own focaccia in-house which has nice flavor and texture. The kebabs were a blend of ground meats that stayed strangely bright red after cooking. They had a unique flavor - not lamb but definitely a little gamey. We asked what type of meat their were and were told they are "made at the restaurant, yes there is beef". It might have been a blend of beef, pork and goat, but definitely weren't 100% beef. They were served with roasted vegetables and potatoes which had good flavor but weren't served very hot. No hand-washing facilities in the bathrooms... a little disturbing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The service and the food here are fantastic. I ate here a few times during my stay in Montezuma and I was never disappointed. Try the mint lemonade with vodka for a delicious cocktail, and be sure to get their dessert! They only have one and it is always soooo good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puggo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.