We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente food, you have to try it....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Main Rd, In Front the Hotel Down Town Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Israeli, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
1 review
“Excelente food, you have to try it....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A great chef restaurant, We loved every dish that we tried.
especially the roasted eggplant...
The team was very professional, and above all, Maya- The sheff that make it all happend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    170
    37
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yummy change of scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

among days of only eating casadas, Pugggo's was our first dinner in Costa Rica that wasn't based on rice and beans - and it was delicious! The middle eastern food fusion seemed to hit the spot perfectly, and the beautifully prepared meals were just as tasty. The scenery is beautiful too and we were there on one of the days with live music which really set the scene with the candles and made it very romantic.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Ate Most of my meals here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I hadn't seen the trip advisor reviews for this place when I found it in Montezuma, but it lived up to their reputation! My favourite dish (as a vegetarian) was the Arabic Salad - the dressing was delicious and the portions were big. I was given the free focaccia bread each time I was there, and it was addicting! I also had the the falafel and hummus, veg burger, and pesto noodles - all were very good! I saw some reviews about the cat - he was there too, but it's Costa Rica - there are dogs/animals wandering through every restarant in Montezuma that I was in.

Great restaurant!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del Toro, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ate there every night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We fell in love with the food at Puggo's - ate there every night (and always ate way too much) while we were in Montezuma. Everything was delish but the hummus with beef was something I had to try and recreate at home. Not that many restaurants I would rate in Costa Rica as excellent. Puggo's was the one.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best in town of Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great atmosphere! Great food! Husband and I went there several times during our 10 day stay in Montezuma. No complaints at all. Owner was wonderful, prices were great and we cannot say enough about her delicious food. And yes, as others have said, she makes a great lemonade, we actually had it with basil instead of mint and we liked it more. Got to try it!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puggo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.