We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate there every night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Main Rd, In Front the Hotel Down Town Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Israeli, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
Bocas del Toro, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ate there every night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We fell in love with the food at Puggo's - ate there every night (and always ate way too much) while we were in Montezuma. Everything was delish but the hummus with beef was something I had to try and recreate at home. Not that many restaurants I would rate in Costa Rica as excellent. Puggo's was the one.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    173
    37
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbiana, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best in town of Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great atmosphere! Great food! Husband and I went there several times during our 10 day stay in Montezuma. No complaints at all. Owner was wonderful, prices were great and we cannot say enough about her delicious food. And yes, as others have said, she makes a great lemonade, we actually had it with basil instead of mint and we liked it more. Got to try it!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“mint lemonade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This restaurant was very good and I enjoyed their veggie offerings. They have a mint lemonade that I've been trying to imitate since I got back. It's the most refreshing thing ever! Definitely worth a try.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montezuma, costa rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Long overdue Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It has to be said that I love Puggo's. I have been eating there consistently for 2 years now. The rumors are true about the foccacia. It's the reason I am there I think. I feel in love with it at first bite. The vibe is chill, the people are friendly and you can watch Montezuma pass by. It also must be said that the artwork is beautiful and a daily inspiration! In short - just go there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food for a western price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We had the stir fried with chicken and the whole fish in herbs. The s.f was amazing! The fish was just ok. Had a problem finding a fish meal for a big guy for less than 14$. The home made bread and it's sauce deserve the rep they got (crazy good)! Great place if you don't mind spending the $.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puggo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.