We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Frangipani, Spectacular Ocean View Villa

Pool at Casa Frangipani
Pool at Casa Frangipani
Pool at Casa Frangipani
Tree House ( two bedrooms )
Property Pool and Garden area
The Villas Casa Frangipani
Bedroom, all villas
Montezuma
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacek-Jad...
East Dorset, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been more perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Our family of 3 loved our stay 5 days in Villa # 3 .
Great location , beautiful view , very save and quiet .

We enjoy a lot swimming every morning and evening in the pool , have breakfast on the porch with amazing view and howler singing monkeys .
We love Montezuma , we love this place and we will be back soon.
Jadwiga , Jacek and Kathleen .

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Taz046
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise - on a hill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

All I can say that it was a little slice of paradise! As I was on foot the hill was an issue, but after having Alex (the caretaker) show me a short cut, the road did not become a problem.

Alex was really friendly and helpful, as well as the cleaning lady.

The actual villa was awesome... I have made several of my friends very jealous! The pool was one of the best I have been in... Almost a private pool if you like. It gets the sun all day and is heavenly if you have made the "trek" up the hill. The gardens were immaculate; the views stunning!

The bed was super comfy, the showers (outdoor AND indoor!) were great. Really clean and simple interiors which I love.

I know these were self-catering villas, but a couple of things that would have been nice to have in situ were: a lemon squeezer (to make ceviche and cocktails), a little cooking oil (which won't go off, even in the heat) and a knife steel (the knives were very blunt). All of these are, I am sure, very cheap to get hold of. The only reason I mention these is because I cooked 4 of my 5 nights there.

All in all, this is a bargain for what you get - it really is a great place to be, both financially and aesthetically. Pura vida!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views and the pool
Liked least: The hill!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Pauline L
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This is great value for such a beautiful one bed villa, the grounds are incredibly lush and well kept and you have the jungle just outside your window. We really enjoyed the outside shower, the views from the terrace and the pool which, we often had to ourselves as there are only three more villas to share it with. We were on honeymoon and really appreciated the welcome champagne chilling for us on arrival. Our villa was number 2. The views of distant ocean and jungle are good but villa 3 at the front has the best view and this was the original one we were offered before it was quickly changed to 2. Not sure what happened there as the guy who ended up in that very scenic villa seemed to have booked a good while after us but, no matter. Villas are cleaned daily but apart from the maid the only other person we saw was Alex who was very helpful when requested but otherwise didn't give any additional info. Wasn't a problem though as we are happy to get on with it and in advance of our visit, the owner made restaurant reservations and Alex booked a cab and massage whilst we were there. You do really need a car for this property because whilst it is possible to walk, it is a very steep and winding walk back up the main road. We like to try out different restaurants and have a few drinks but the walk put us off doing that so we drove into Montezuma and stayed sober or ate in the villa. Pick up supplies and delicious fresh breads at the supermarket which, whilst unfriendly and always packed, is very well stocked for CR and had everything we needed. Mixed feelings about Montezuma generally. We were attracted by the hippy tag but didn't get a great vibe. The beach at the north end is stunning and we enjoyed good food in Puggo and Artistes but having made the day trip to Santa Teresa and found it stunning and friendly, I think i would recommend that location instead. But for value for money and general ambience, Casa Frangipani was top notch.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views, the stars, the outside shower, the privacy
Liked least: The distance up a very steep hill from town
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
HStevens1...
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Stay at this rental and you won't be sorry!!! This place is spectacular from the owner, to the house, the pool, and even the wildlife, it's perfect!!!
We had a fantastic time during our six day stay in May. It's close to town, but the pool and view will make you not want to leave. The howler monkeys that live in the area actually nested outside of our deck for the evening so we had a close up view of them. Truly a magical experience!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tera R
Lehigh Acres, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Magical - A Place of Firsts!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

As soon as I clicked on the page and saw the exact view that I saw while floating in a pool as the profile picture for Casa Frangipani the first thing I did was smile (in the picture you can't see the ocean in the distance) : }. I loved being here and I have only wonderful things to say about Casa Frangipani. First, it is simply beautiful -- the villas, the views, the sounds, the people. We stayed in Villa #3 - we were right next to the pool (I read a review posted from a woman who was in Villa #1 and she thought her view was great, but suggested that the view in Villa #3 had to be the best, plus it was right next to the pool). Sold!! Casa Frangipani sits on the top of a steep mountain (it's on Calle Linda Vista (Beautiful View Street), and from our villa we were surrounded by nature and different landscapes--we had rain forest with a river we could hear running below, 2 different views of the ocean (East and West)--and hummingbirds, parakeets, lots of beautiful birds that I don't know by name, butterflies, flowers, trees, and howler monkeys (we didn't spot them but we heard them every morning and evening)--oh and an Iguana I fed mangos to on the terrace.

The grounds are beautifully kept with flowers growing everywhere, everything is clean and tranquil, the pool is wonderful. Our villa was spacious and made of stone--which was cool on my feet and so beautiful. We had an outdoor shower (which I took all but 1 of my showers in)--it was simply perfect. There's also an indoor shower which is beautiful but not nearly as fun! And everyone Rebeca (the proprietar), Arbel (the gardener), Yvette (the housekeeper) was warm, welcoming and awesome. Rebeca greeted us and told us everything we needed to know about our villa and the town of Montezuma. We were left in the capable and super nice hands of Arbel to show us the paths to town and the waterfall and the mango trees, and to just be wonderful and awesome. And Yvette who kept our villa looking beautiful and perfect every day -- (I like to clean too so I hope that made her day as well)! I promised myself I wouldn't make this ultra long because I want people to read it and go. I'm sure there are other places to stay in Montezuma that people liked or even loved but I can't imagine that any would compare to the tranquility and beauty of a place and the people than Casa Frangipani. It was the cone and the cherry on top!!! We can't wait to come back--Arbel kept saying how beautiful the water is in the summer so we will be back in the summer! Casa Frangipani is definitely more a place for couples and friends--it's peaceful, relaxing, time slows down (I swear)--and extra amazing.

Montezuma is a magical place. There is so much beauty everywhere both in nature and in the hearts of the people there. Please go to Playa Grande--during low tide---and it will take your breath away! The beach stretches out for miles, the waves are calm and low-- barely there. Swim in the Cascada -getting there will be an adventure but you will be rewarded with beauty and a refreshing cool that will soothe and invigorate you simultaneously. And for those who just have too, jump from the rocks--and for those of you who just know you will, jump from the top of the waterfall into the refreshing pool below. Go home with some handmade jewelry from a fire dance instructor, an out of this world artist--climbing stairs to heaven, and a seasoned artist willing to season your life with nature's spices.Zip line right by some howler monkeys who "woot" "woot" you in on your final line (happened for real).Surfing at Playa Grande whether it is your first time or not is an awesome time every time. Buy some empanadas from in front of the futbol field that are hot from the oil to your bag. And for food....so much goodness in such a little space...everyone has their favorites--but when we are in Costa Rica we only want local food (comida tipica). We are a house divided --she says Monte Sol has the best casado con pescado but I say Deliciosas does. But for breakfast only Monte Sol (we both agree). Sano Banano has a delicious fish wrap and some really good chicken nachos!!

We loved it here and we love Costa Rica.

Rebeca I hope you read this--hello and thank you again for everything it was one of our best vacations ever! (and please tell Arbel for me)

Hola mi amigo Arbel, pederte me nuestros conversaciones--veo pronto. Que le vaya bien!

Go to Montezuma, stay in Casa Frangipani, go home happy!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Hate-bein...
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Can't say enough of how much we loved this place.
Beautifully manicured, quiet, clean....... perfect space with a view.
We loved just sitting by the pool, reading or enjoying the big walk-out deck from the bedroom, looking out at the ocean view and teeming with life hillside.
It's close enough to walk to the beach or into town. We both ate out at a few delicious restaurants in town and cooked our own meals in the basically stocked kitchenette. We had everything we needed!
Be sure to take a walk through the jungle to the nearby waterfalls

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view from the deck
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
metalman8...
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed 4 nights on our Costa Rica adventure and absolutely loved it. The villa was beautiful, modern and the property is absolutely spectacular. The views from the roof deck are incredible and you will be sure to see lots of wildlife. We saw monkeys, reptiles, hummingbirds and even the neighbors pet pig!

We cant wait to return. It really felt like a home away from home. Rebecca was amazing and helped us plan out our entire stay in Montezuma. It is a special place. We loved it.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views, the villa and the property.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$130
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Kenneth M
13056773216
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Dec 2009
Response Rate: 75 %
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing