We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is beautiful and could be a great experience....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The place is beautiful and could be a great experience....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

This hotel is beautiful; apparently the owners used to live here, added some other accomodations and turned it into a hotel. Location is up high on a hill...not walking distance to beach or town. Long, hot, dusty roads to the bottom. Upon arriving we were delighted by the beauty of the main area...just beautiful with inifinity pool and views. The owner/manager Joseph was very pleasant upon arriving and there were many other people milling around and we didn't know if they were staff or guests and they did not say anything upon our arrival. Later we found they were mostly staff. This is a place if you are into yoga, are not a drinker/partier, and generally laid back you will fit in well with the yogi owners. We felt like we were intruding on someones personal space. The other owner/yoga instructor was aloof and even when directly speaking to her she gave the feeling that she was being put out by having to speak to you. The hotel lists internet provided....there was an employee; Heidi, who CONSUMED the only available laptop so if you could get to it before she did you could try to use it....not a great connection and took many trys to access. Our room was beautful and it was sometimes cleaned; we stayed several days and some days not.....unsure of there method of cleaning. The Costa Rican employees; Oscar, Yohan and I belive Anna were warm, tried to take of your needs; cooked and were really the delight of the staff.
The food Oscar made for dinner was good, his energy and warmth made it great.
The place should be a community vibe/feel because you share the majority of the space, but, I think it misses greatly. They are new. Hopefully, it will be better down the road.
Must be ok with Geckos, scorpions, lot's o' bugs as the spaces are very open.
AC worked decently.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
28
59
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I was lucky enough to be introduced to this hotel by a friend. It is lavish, and in my opinion, has the perfect rich coloring for each room. It feels good to be here. Simultaneously exotic and simple. I felt to be living in some kind of dream castle. Down to earth owners who genuinely love what they have created--one gets the sense that they care about the community or solitude that might be created within it's walls and little cottages and beyond the edges of the infinity pool. The kind of place where on the right night I might feel entirely comfortable drinking wine with dinner and then licking my plate.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

everything at anamaya seeps thoughtfulness- from the food prepared, to the beds made. from the gentleman tending the garden and pool, to the warmth of joseph and jeff (the owners) . to say anamaya is the closest place i've ever been to heaven is not an exaggeration!i found anamaya when i met a friendly girl on a boat (who just happens to live in my same neighborhood in brooklyn, and whom I see quite frequently post-costa rica!)I told her I was really looking for some place i could hunker down at for a night to reflect, unwind and practice yoga. She recommended anamaya without blinking. She said, "i cannot do this place justice with my own words, you just have to see it." I ended up staying there for the remaining 5 days of my trip and it was the best travel decision I ever made! my days were spent either at the gorgeous gorgeous infinity pool, or down by the famed montezuma waterfall which is only a 2 minute walk down a little trail. I also rented an ATV in downtown montezuma and LOVED driving it up to anamaya and around the jungle and beach, and i would pick up locals and friends alike who wanted a lift. A perfect balance of luxury and adventure, a favorite combination of mine!my nights at anamaya were magical as well. dinners were spent around the gorgeous communal table drinking wine,enjoying the creations of one of the two talented chefs, and having great conversations with both the people who work there and travelers alike. The rooms are immaculate and unbelievable. no photo would do this place justice. Joseph and Jeff also bend over backwards to make everyone comfortable-you can truly tell running this retreat is a passion and love of theirs. the bali room is truly the most romantic place on earth,and the jungle room is simply amazing. my last night while i was showering in my outdoor shower i watched a family of howler monkeys, 5 feet away in the trees. Thank you joseph and jeff for sharing your place, stories, and wonderful spirits and energy with me. Bravo!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Expectacular views, confertable and private rooms, good food, excelent service and energy. it is by far the best place I have visited in Costa Rica, and as a yoga instuctor it is the best place I have found to bring my Arizona yoga students. Planning already on going back with a group this July 2010 for a yoga retreat. just love it. Practicing at the sun rise and sun set was amassing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I am almost afraid to say too much about this place for fear of not being able to book a room in a few years. Anamaya is fairly new but feels settled, organized, calm, and a bit magical.
Everyone from the cleaning / maintenance staff to the cook to the co-owner, Joseph, were lovely. The main building as well as the cabinas (we were given a small tour!) are unique and stylish but are also very comfortable feeling. The location is great because it is only a few minutes from the bustle(!) of Montezuma's downtown core. The view (from the infinity pool) is absolute breathtaking. I am looking forward to many more visits to Anamaya.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

No matter what you're looking for; a relaxing hill-top stay, a peaceful yoga retreat, or simply a break from "downtown" Montezuma, this is your place. Staying here felt like a dream. The owners and staff should pride themselves on maintaining an oasis of tranquility - yet it didn't feel too quiet or impersonal. It was easy to get to know other guests because the very tastefully decorated common areas lent themselves to great conversation and pool-side chatting, if that's what you're interested in. Otherwise, you can lounge on your beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean, swing in your hammock and read. I will definitely go back to Anamaya, hopefully for a much longer stay. I am a world-traveller in her 30s and have seen many a beautiful resort, this is definitely in the top 3.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

How would you like to wake up in your beautiful casita to a view of the sun rising over the Pacific (that's right -- rising, not setting!). Anamaya Resort is poised on the top of a hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean where it meets the Gulf of Nicoya, above Montezuma. From the large, airy, shaded veranda, as well as from the beautiful infiinity pool, you can look one way and see south along the Pacific Coast of central Costa Rica, and the other up the coast of the Nicoya Peninsula. The accomodations are beautifully done -- artistic without being precious or busy--and fit right in with the restful, warm vibe. And the couple who run the place are welcoming and eager to make your stay joyful and relaxing. Two potential drawbacks: Anamaya is up a steep hill from town, so you pretty much have to drive (or take a long hot walk back up the hill!) to get down into the town of Montezuma or to the many beaches in the area. Also, it's pricey. But you're paying for a beautiful experience!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

Address: 300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anamaya is a luxury boutique hotel and yoga retreat center in the beautiful beach town of Montezuma, Costa Rica. We have the best view of any hotel in the area, and are right next door to famous Montezuma Falls, which is a 5 minute walk from our property. The hotel is decorated in a very artistic, Bohemian, yet luxurious style that creates a very exotic feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anamaya Resort And Retreat Center
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center to your Saves list