We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the closest place i've ever been to heaven..a hidden oasis....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
Save
You added Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center to your Saves list
300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
brooklyn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the closest place i've ever been to heaven..a hidden oasis....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

everything at anamaya seeps thoughtfulness- from the food prepared, to the beds made. from the gentleman tending the garden and pool, to the warmth of joseph and jeff (the owners) . to say anamaya is the closest place i've ever been to heaven is not an exaggeration!i found anamaya when i met a friendly girl on a boat (who just happens to live in my same neighborhood in brooklyn, and whom I see quite frequently post-costa rica!)I told her I was really looking for some place i could hunker down at for a night to reflect, unwind and practice yoga. She recommended anamaya without blinking. She said, "i cannot do this place justice with my own words, you just have to see it." I ended up staying there for the remaining 5 days of my trip and it was the best travel decision I ever made! my days were spent either at the gorgeous gorgeous infinity pool, or down by the famed montezuma waterfall which is only a 2 minute walk down a little trail. I also rented an ATV in downtown montezuma and LOVED driving it up to anamaya and around the jungle and beach, and i would pick up locals and friends alike who wanted a lift. A perfect balance of luxury and adventure, a favorite combination of mine!my nights at anamaya were magical as well. dinners were spent around the gorgeous communal table drinking wine,enjoying the creations of one of the two talented chefs, and having great conversations with both the people who work there and travelers alike. The rooms are immaculate and unbelievable. no photo would do this place justice. Joseph and Jeff also bend over backwards to make everyone comfortable-you can truly tell running this retreat is a passion and love of theirs. the bali room is truly the most romantic place on earth,and the jungle room is simply amazing. my last night while i was showering in my outdoor shower i watched a family of howler monkeys, 5 feet away in the trees. Thank you joseph and jeff for sharing your place, stories, and wonderful spirits and energy with me. Bravo!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
33
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Az
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Expectacular views, confertable and private rooms, good food, excelent service and energy. it is by far the best place I have visited in Costa Rica, and as a yoga instuctor it is the best place I have found to bring my Arizona yoga students. Planning already on going back with a group this July 2010 for a yoga retreat. just love it. Practicing at the sun rise and sun set was amassing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I am almost afraid to say too much about this place for fear of not being able to book a room in a few years. Anamaya is fairly new but feels settled, organized, calm, and a bit magical.
Everyone from the cleaning / maintenance staff to the cook to the co-owner, Joseph, were lovely. The main building as well as the cabinas (we were given a small tour!) are unique and stylish but are also very comfortable feeling. The location is great because it is only a few minutes from the bustle(!) of Montezuma's downtown core. The view (from the infinity pool) is absolute breathtaking. I am looking forward to many more visits to Anamaya.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

No matter what you're looking for; a relaxing hill-top stay, a peaceful yoga retreat, or simply a break from "downtown" Montezuma, this is your place. Staying here felt like a dream. The owners and staff should pride themselves on maintaining an oasis of tranquility - yet it didn't feel too quiet or impersonal. It was easy to get to know other guests because the very tastefully decorated common areas lent themselves to great conversation and pool-side chatting, if that's what you're interested in. Otherwise, you can lounge on your beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean, swing in your hammock and read. I will definitely go back to Anamaya, hopefully for a much longer stay. I am a world-traveller in her 30s and have seen many a beautiful resort, this is definitely in the top 3.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

How would you like to wake up in your beautiful casita to a view of the sun rising over the Pacific (that's right -- rising, not setting!). Anamaya Resort is poised on the top of a hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean where it meets the Gulf of Nicoya, above Montezuma. From the large, airy, shaded veranda, as well as from the beautiful infiinity pool, you can look one way and see south along the Pacific Coast of central Costa Rica, and the other up the coast of the Nicoya Peninsula. The accomodations are beautifully done -- artistic without being precious or busy--and fit right in with the restful, warm vibe. And the couple who run the place are welcoming and eager to make your stay joyful and relaxing. Two potential drawbacks: Anamaya is up a steep hill from town, so you pretty much have to drive (or take a long hot walk back up the hill!) to get down into the town of Montezuma or to the many beaches in the area. Also, it's pricey. But you're paying for a beautiful experience!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

This was our 2nd trip to Costa Rica- Anamaya & Montezuma were our favorite! Its best to have a car as they are a few minutes drive up a steep hill from town (20 min walk) but with beautiful views and tropical breeze, its definitely worth it. The owners/managers were very accommodating and massages and yoga were excellent.
We hope to return with family/friends soon!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Anamaya for 2 nights in Jan 010. First of all, you can't talk about Anamaya without mentioning the view. It's absolutely stunning. There is a giant yoga deck and a small infinity pool which exploit the view to great effect. We stayed in 'Bali house' which was by far the most unique and beautiful room we stayed in during our whole vacation. It has all glass walls with draw curtains, shares the same view as the deck, and has an outdoor bathroom that looks out over the Ocean. It should be mentioned that this is more of a retreat center than 5 star hotel. If you expect the kind of service and attention that you'd get for a similar amount of money at a hotel, you might not find it here. The staff is friendly and wonderful, they just don't have personnel and infrastructure to provide that kind of experience. This was more than fine for my wife and I, and we actually preferred this experience. For instance, there isn't really a menu. Dinner is prepared based on what they have (beautiful organic produce) and what you request. That was ideal for us. All the bungalows are unique and beautiful. The management is flexible and accommodating. This would be an ideal place for a destination wedding. I would say that if you are looking for a unique and relaxing escape and are not going to be fussy about being waited upon, you will love this place as much as we did.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

Address: 300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anamaya is a luxury boutique hotel and yoga retreat center in the beautiful beach town of Montezuma, Costa Rica. We have the best view of any hotel in the area, and are right next door to famous Montezuma Falls, which is a 5 minute walk from our property. The hotel is decorated in a very artistic, Bohemian, yet luxurious style that creates a very exotic feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Hotel Montezuma
Anamaya Resort And Retreat Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.