We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there was a rating above excellent i'd choose that!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
Save
You added Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center to your Saves list
300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If there was a rating above excellent i'd choose that!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The reviews speak for themselves but the Yoga Retreat experience at Anamaya is hard to describe with words and pictures. You just have to experience it for yourself to understand what it means.

Rooms: I stayed in PRANA, amazing room, cozy with a gorgeous ocean view, a rocking chair and a hammock on my balcony. Would be hard to leave the room if the main house wasn't as beautiful. Room was very close to the main house.

Place: Amazing! that's all i can say, the location is remote in a small village where everyone becomes famous after visiting town just twice. The retreat is located on top of a hill overviewing the ocean where the yoga classes took place every morning and evening.

People: The staff are Amazing, from the cooks to the help to the therapists. i know i'm saying amazing a lot but i can't find a synonym to substitute the word. they are friendly, attentive and aim at attending to your needs before you actually request for anything. One of the owners came and spent few days with us, she ate with us took Yoga classes with us and experienced our experiences in a very down to earth way, which was a very nice touch. The Yoga instructor was also a very nice and good.

There are plenty of activities to engage with, you feel like you want to do everything and a week is too short. the connections you make there are unbelievable. For example they have the same amount of chairs at the dinner tables as the amount of people attending the retreat, this means you don't feel lonely, alone, left out or shy from the second you walk in. it feels like you walked into a place where you make immediate friends. Some people did two weeks and said that it's totally depending on your luck with the group you end up with but to my luck it seems our group gelled well. If you do need to be alone and spend some time reflecting, writing or reading also it's the best place to be.

The food was out of this world, they said they were making a cook book and they should. The taste, variety and presentation was 5 stars if not more. and the deserts... oh my!

Overall, like i said, it's hard to put it in words, we were all in tears on the last day, it's a very emotional experience. I made friends whom i travelled with to other countries after i left the retreat and we now visit each other in our relevant countries. We all left refreshed, highly energetic and ready to conquer the world :) Pura Vida at its finest!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
34
76
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I went to an Anamaya Yoga retreat in November of 2013, by myself. It's not so easy to describe how wonderful and transformative this place is. There were 30 of us from all across the world. Not many places you can stay and enter as 30 strangers and leave a week later as family. The property, location, staff, food, yoga experience, accomodations, programs and options, are all one can ever ask for. Anamaya was obviously created for the soul, spirit and real connections seekers looking for a deep, meaningful and truly transformative experiences.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I just returned from paradise..Anamaya! I can't even begin to express the joy it was to teach such amazing people from all over the world. I will cherish this memory forever in my heart and thank you to the amazing staff at Anamaya for making my stay so incredible.
As soon as you walk into the main house, you feel the connection with nature and you feel pure bliss. The views are absolutely incredible, that the pictures do not do it any justice! This was my second time here and it def won't be my last. Hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a delightful, charming place. The view, with an infinity pool perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean, will take your breath away. For this mostly-vegetarian, the meals were a treat - fresh, delicious, beautiful to look at, plentiful. Staff was friendly and accomodating. I thoroughly enjoyed the twice-daily yoga classes with guest teacher April, with howler monkeys and iguanas observing us nearby. I made it my mission to try out every one of the dozen or so hammocks scattered throughout the resort, each offering a unique view of the forest and ocean. I was there to celebrate my birthday, and the staff made it special with a silky avocado brithday cake. I would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Anamaya is one of those places which would bless you with memories you'll cary with you throughout your life. You'll meet great people, make friends for life and have adventures. Its up to you what you do. Anamaya is just there to help you help yourself. It is a kind of place that can help you find what you are looking for, if you let it.
So, chose your destination and go, if you accept everyone you meet as a teacher then the truth will not be withheld from you.

Namaste,
Best of luck to you on your journey...
Denis

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I had the pleasure of being a guest teacher at the exotic Anamaya and I have to tell you that I am already planning to go back! From the moment you walk through the doors until the time you leave you are treated like family. The staff and the resident kitty, Onyx, really care about your well being and your experience at Anamaya and go out of their way to make sure your stay there is superb. The food is delicious and fresh with nice plated presentations. The views are breathtaking, you must get up early at least one time while you're there to meditate as the sunrises with a very curious iguana that likes to also watch the sun come up. I can write a book about the unforgettable experience I had, but you'll have to go for yourself and experience how taken you become with Costa Rica, Anamaya, the beaches and the beautiful people.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I don't think there's a place as magical as Anamaya. I travelled on my first solo trip here and was feeling a little nervous but from the moment I arrived I was greeted with a delicious smoothie and open arms. Everyone was just amazing....staff, travelers....the place is gorgeous! Delicious food and probably the healthiest I've eaten in my life! Lots to do or very little depending what you want. The facial was amazing....the views...the pool. Everything exceeded my expectations especially the friends I made :) Don't hesitate just go!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
1.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#5 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

Address: 300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anamaya is a luxury boutique hotel and yoga retreat center in the beautiful beach town of Montezuma, Costa Rica. We have the best view of any hotel in the area, and are right next door to famous Montezuma Falls, which is a 5 minute walk from our property. The hotel is decorated in a very artistic, Bohemian, yet luxurious style that creates a very exotic feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Hotel Montezuma
Anamaya Resort And Retreat Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.