We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
Save Saved
You added Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center to your Saves list
300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were there last week, as a couple, expecting a one-week-relax/discovery trip for 2 yoga beginners. We had that and a lot more.
Arriving after dusk, we were greeted by a warm welcome and a delicious exotic meal, prepared by a local chef. The cabin (jungle) was as comfy and stylish as the pics suggested. Unfortunately, the birds and monkeys don't make it to the patio, but a 5minute walk will get you to them!
The next morning started by the daily morning yoga session with Lia. Her "go at your rhythm up to your own cliff's edge" approach made the beginners comfortable and the advanced satisfied. Every morning, she got pretty much all of us craving for our next ocean-view session! The yoga program was completed by pm sessions of acro/team with Joseph, the co-owner, or Chill/restorative yoga with Sylvia. The team/acro were very entertaining, bringing a new interactive component to yoga. We could very well appreciate Joseph's expertise and creativity as well as his eager to have us get the maximum out of our Anamaya experience. As for Sylvia, her calm and almost "maternal" touch made her sessions very soothing, especially for those who did hiking or surfing during the day. Talking about soothing, Diane and Laura, the massotherapists had no equal to find that soar muscle and fix it!
The chefs were terrific and one, Natie, let us have some of our secrets with a wonderful cooking lesson!
Thank you for that recharging experience and bringing our yoga to another level!
We will be back,
K&S

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph-Anamaya, Owner at Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi "Ruckuz," thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. It was really wonderful having you at Anamaya. I'm glad you liked the partner/acro yoga. I love that you called it team/acro yoga. The second partner class we did was practiced in a circle all together so I can see how you got that name. Hope to see you again one day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
28
64
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pictures do not do this place justice! My daughter and I shared the Yoga/Adventure package and she surfed 4 out of 5 days.....Everyone was so wonderful! Jen, Gretel, Lauren, Natie, Albert became like family after just one day! There were some who had years of yoga experience, some intermediates, then there was ME----I had never been to a yoga class in my life! Lia was outstanding----it was great enough for those with experience and she helped me adapt to my own "cliff's edge"! None of us even THOUGHT about missing a class! Sylvia's restorative yoga sessions are not to be missed -----I am totally spoiled. I love yoga!!!!! The hikes and the waterfalls are not to be missed either---bring good water-shoes for the climbs over and through the falls. We thought we were going to lose weight on this adventure because who expected the food to be SOOOOO over-the-top!!!!! We stayed in the lotus cabana. The views from our cabana were incredible; we woke up with the howler monkeys at sunrise every morning and opened the curtains to soak it all in----or went out on our balcony in the hammocks----too awesome! Getting to and from Anamaya is an adventure in itself......most of us opted to take the shuttle/ferry from San Jose International airport to Anamaya (we called the van/taxi rides "Costa Rican Massages"...try not to sit in the back); the ferry ride to the peninsula was great! We flew back from Timbor to San Jose----important tip: make your reservations early on Sansas if you can so you can fly direct to the international airport. If not, Nature Air flies to an airport about an hour away from San Jose International airport----keep that in mind when making your arrangements.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

From the very minute I arrived until the minute I left, Anamaya surpassed any and all expectations I may have had.
In my opinion we had a great group who genuinely enjoyed learning about and spending time with each other.
Jen and the rest of the staff bent over backwards, while making it look easy, to make sure everyone was happy. The yoga that I participated in was emotionally moving to say the least, thanks to The Invitation. The rest of the activities offered just put the icing on the cake.
as solo traveler, I was hoping I wouldn't be bored. Quite the opposite, from the rest of the solo travelers to the honeymooning couple, boredom was never an issue. I consider my new friends, friends for life.
Anamaya was an experience that all should have. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The minute I stepped foot in anamaya I felt a warm feeling. At that moment i knew that this was going to be a wonderful month. The view from the yoga deck is indescribable. Pictures do not do justice. It is absolutely breathtaking. The hospitality is perfection. The staff is genuine. The food is divine. I couldn't have been happier with everything. I recommend anamaya to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I visited Anamaya for a retreat and plan to return soon. It was a great experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and plentiful. Their accommodations are perfect for the setting. It's an overall great atmosphere.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in the Bali Cabina this past winter and found it to be a gorgeous and relaxing setting. The cabina was exquisitely built and decorated and has a stunning view. Breakfasts were great but we didn't have any other meals. The infinity pool was fun but the big thing we loved was the proximity to the waterfalls, just a great 5 minute walk down the hill.

The one thing that was unfortunate about our trip was that there was a workshop or retreat of some sort being held while we were there and that created a pretty insular and not all that welcoming feeling as we were seemingly the only ones staying there who were not involved. The staff, while fairly friendly, were certainly more focused on the group than they were on us. We waited for breakfast for about 75 minutes one day because one of the group activities were running late. I can understand catering to the larger group, certain, but when we're paying $300 nightly throwing a little love our way wouldn't have hurt!

Room Tip: Bali Cabina is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I simply cannot say enough good things about Anamaya! The property is amazingly beautiful, and the staff stops at nothing to ensure all guests are well attended to and comfortable. The food, wow! There wasn't a dissatisfied guest at meal time. The staff takes care of anything you need arranged, from taxis, to flights, to local activities, and more.
There were quite a few in house activities as well, including salsa dancing lessons, a circus performance that included aerial silks, fire dancing, juggling, and a unicycle.

I highly recommend taking surf lessons while here if you have any desire to learn. Anamaya works with Young Vision Surf School and they come and pick you up right at the front door of the property. Awesome service! The beach bonfire in Santa Teresa is fantastic, put on by the Surf School in conjunction with Anamaya.

Make sure and hit reggae night at Chico's Bar in town!

They don't use pesticides at Anamaya, but quite frankly I never put on bug spray the entire week and never got a single bite.

The only negatives, and they are minor. The small swimming pool should be a hot tub. The soap they provide in the rooms is really tough to open, falls apart, and really doesn't lather up much at all.

Room Tip: La Casita is the room away from the more occupied areas on the property. Great room for those seeki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

Address: 300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anamaya is a luxury boutique hotel and yoga retreat center in the beautiful beach town of Montezuma, Costa Rica. We have the best view of any hotel in the area, and are right next door to famous Montezuma Falls, which is a 5 minute walk from our property. The hotel is decorated in a very artistic, Bohemian, yet luxurious style that creates a very exotic feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anamaya Resort And Retreat Center
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.