We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value accommodation in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casas Colibri Montezuma

Casas Colibri Montezuma
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casas Colibri Montezuma
Save
You added Casas Colibri Montezuma to your Saves list
Pura Vida Road, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best value accommodation in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Casas Colibri is a new spot run by a friendly and genuine English/Costa Rican couple up on the hill above Montezuma. The casas are all immaculate and have a kitchenette too. They are set in a nice garden which is full of birdlife, away from the main road so the place is really peaceful. And the town's baker is across the road! The casas seemed to us to be really good value for money, and although we didn't have a car we got free lifts into and out of town whenever we wanted - the centre of town is only a few minutes by car.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

These three small houses each consist of a bedroom, bathroom, porch and kitchen. They are run by a young couple who works very hard to accommodate their guests. The houses are comfortable, beds come with mosquito netting, and the kitchen is stocked with cookware and a fridge.

The location is the only draw-back. It's not on the beach, but it's about a 20-minute walk away if you're stuck there during the day without a ride (not possible to walk back at night without a flash light). The couple running the place also provide rides into town, and they will even pick you up at a requested time. They provide a free tour to the third level of the Montezuma waterfalls (most people have to hike 20 mins. to the first level; this couple will drive you so you only have to hike 5 mins.) and free booking on tours and buses out of Montezuma. If they can't get you back to the hotel, a $5-6 cab ride will. Even though you won't be able to walk right out of your bungalow and onto the beach, the price ($30/night) is well worth the extra planning required in making sure you can get to and from the Casas throughout the day.

You can buy food items in town and wake up and cook a breakfast in the kitchen with provided cookware. The porch makes a great place to enjoy an evening in the country, and you can hear all sorts of wildlife around you throughout the night and day. The porch is also good for getting to know your neighbors, as Montezuma in general attracts very interesting people.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casascolibri, Owners at Casas Colibri Montezuma, responded to this review, December 2, 2009
Just to mention... the price of $30 a night was a special introductory and low season offer... we're afraid prices currently stand at $40 a night and will be rising as the season progresses!

Also while we're writing we might also just say that the only time guests need to make their own way home is late at night. There are usually taxis around in high season, but it is true that if there are not, guests must walk or find a ride!

And, R&B - thank you for your kind words - it was a pleasure having you to stay.

Sarah and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

This pace is just up the hill from montezuma and is amazingly clean. The houses are made of cement instead of the usual wood. The house has a spacious bedroom with mosquito nets and big kitchen with fridge cooker, oven and microwave. The owners are super friendly and fun and will show you around montezuma and surroundings with great pleasure! The garden is filled with animals, especially in early mornings, like hummingbirds, deer, monkeys and lots of other birds. We planned to stay for only a couple of days but ended up staying for 6 nights and had an amazing time!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for somewhere peaceful, romantic and beautiful to just completely chill out in. The houses are all really well located and have gorgeous, lush gardens. When we were there, the lovely young owners Sarah and Michael sorted us out completely recommending lovely waterfalls and beaches to visit (all for free). Our house was also really spacious and very clean, typically tropical too - light, and breezy. Weather was generally fantastic!

Anyway, I never write reviews but we had a superb holiday and i can't wait to go back. AND I really did think this couple were doing an excellent job keeping up the homes to a very high standard and generally being very thoughtful and kind.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casas Colibri Montezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas Colibri Montezuma

Address: Pura Vida Road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Casas Colibri are set amidst blissful tranquility on the hill above Montezuma, Costa Rica. There are 3 immaculately clean little houses for rent, in a gorgeous garden surrounded by nature. Each has an open plan fully equipped kitchen and bedroom, separated by a breakfast bar; plus a good-sized bathroom and a terrace. With extra mattresses, the houses can accommodate up to 6 people. The houses are laid out so that each enjoys a feeling of privacy, yet they are close enough to each other that a group or family can rent several and enjoy their holiday together. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casas Colibri Montezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.