We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret gem for families and couples! It was PERFECT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Heights
Save Saved
You added Montezuma Heights to your Saves list
calle Horizontes, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Secret gem for families and couples! It was PERFECT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Where do I start? I'm the sort of traveler who wants to leave the comforts of home and see something unique. Also, only being 23, I don't need all the fancy set-ups that a high end resort would have. That being said, I would not discredit the quality and passion that went into these lodges. Peter (The owner), made all the lodges himself using reclaimed materials over the past couple decades of living there. They are beautiful and creative - something incredibly different you'd want to see aside from the more expensive and ritzy resorts with spas and restaurants.
There is a slight inconvenience regarding its location to downtown Montezuma. Its a 7-8 minute 4wheel drive trip either way (10 USD). That is seriously the ONLY thing "wrong" with the place unless you fret about an occasional ant or lack of AC. Peter was nice enough to meet us in town upon our arrival, waited on us to get our groceries at the local store, and toured us throughout the property. All of that being said, the cab rides and drives up to the lodges are WELL worth it. I felt like a king on the property my girlfriend and I rented at an incredibly affordable price. Outdoor shower during the sunrise and sunsets, a bed in the loft overlooking the ocean horizon, and lets not forget an entire lodge to yourself. There are no noisy neighbors to worry about. You feel like you're in the middle of the Costa Rican jungle on top of a 300 foot cliff with no worries. Bring all your food and make it right there in the kitchen with everything you need to have a wonderful homemade meal.
We saw wildlife, ate fruit from the trees on the property, witnessed a thunderstorm roar across the ocean from our bed loft, and were occasionally greeted by the two dogs that live on the property as well.
Peter and his family were beyond generous and special to us. They told us all about the local history, happenings, introduced us to their pet parrot, and Natalie their 10 year old daughter even drew us a picture welcoming us. For the amount I spent on this lodge, I doubt I will find the quality of stay equivalent to a sort of host family..ever.

If you're the type of traveler that wants the $10 hostels directly in town, go for it. I am the same way and I would still say you're missing out. If you're the type of traveler that needs to be pampered with resort level amenities I ask, why did you leave your home anyway? STAY HERE

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
873PeterK873, Owner at Montezuma Heights, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thanks for the nice review, we really appreciate it. Hope having you again, please remember our little paradise.
Big hugs

Peter, Rocio and Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent a full week in Geco cabin and it was just wonderful! Since the amazing dawns from your window, the new pool, the view from the deck with the refreshing breeze, or just having a relax in the hammock, Geco was wonderful.
The location is really nice, since it is out of Montezuma town (really quiet all day long), but just minutes away from downtown if need anything. Great location as HQ for short trips to Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Hermosa, Manzanillo, Playa Grande, etc.
Peter, Rocio and Natalie were so kind during our stay, willing to help us and even providing us tips for local restaurants, beaches, and nice activities to practice.

Thanks for an amazing experience! and an extra cookie for Luna and Estrellita (amazing/friendly family dogs)

Thanks again.

Room Tip: Geco - Recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
873PeterK873, Owner at Montezuma Heights, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Google Translation
Elmer y Cinthya un gran saludo para ustedes dos. Que hermosas palabras ! :), muchisimas gracias. Reciprocamente debemos decirles que ha sido para nosotros un gran halago conocer gente como ustedes con esa calidad humana, don de servicio, empatia y sensibilidad. No hay duda que Dios los ha premiado con esas bellas virtudes. Fue un placer tenerlos aqui dandonos la vida la oportunidad de intercambiar energia y opiniones con gente tan considerada, hacendosa, amena y amigable. Un saludo a Rigo y ojala que nuestros destinos se crucen de nuevo. Hasta la proxima :).
Con aprecio
Peter, Rocio y Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benmhope
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We love this place and will continue to come back. The view, the location and getting away from it all. The town of montezuma is getting a bit run down with the years, which is a bit sad, as it used to be the flash packer paradise, it is now feeling more like the budget beach town. That said Peter and Rocios cabins are the most perfect nature escape. In fact we hardly left the place. And it is a great jumping off point to nearby visits, Curu, Santa Teresa, mal pais, etc.

Room Tip: If you are a family, or if you like to ok, take the bigger cabin. Otherwise the smaller one is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
873PeterK873, Owner at Montezuma Heights, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks for beeing with us and the nice review, it was a pleasure to have you again and hopefully our ways will cross again.
Peter, Rocio and Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Peter's cabin on the cliffs above Montezuma was the last stop on our trip through Central America. Without a doubt, this was the loveliest place we stayed in during the entire holiday - really clean, best room, best bed, best shower and best view! Seeing the sun rise above the ocean every single morning was just breathtaking. The kitchen was fully equipped and offered all things necessary for us to prepare big breakfasts and cook some great dinners.
Also, there were zero (!) moskitos at the time of our visit, we didn't even need to use the moskito net that was provided.
The infinity poole next to the main house was free to use for us, definitely a big plus and an amazing afternoon refreshment!

We were looking for a rather remote spot, trying to avoid the New Year's buzz of the village, Montezuma Heights was a perfect choice for this. To be more flexible and not need to rely on taxis we rented a Quad (at Cocozuma Travel, right in town) to get home and around. It was great fun exploring the area and mastering the hilly dirt roads.

The host family is really great, including the two amazing dogs that guarded the property. Peter, Rocio and Natalie have always been helpful when we had questions, gave us great tips to explore the surrounding area and were great company. Thanks for a perfect ending to our holiday! We're hoping to come back one day!

Room Tip: There are different cabins available, all with stunning seaview but varying in size. All hand built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
873PeterK873, Owner at Montezuma Heights, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank das Ihr bei uns wart, wir hoffen das es nicht das letzte mal war und wuerden us freuen wenn Ihr wieder vorbeischauen wuerdet, liebe Grusse nach Berlin.
Peter, Rocio und Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We travelled all around Costa Rica and stayed in many cabin style lodging because they are usually friendlier, intimate and we like the rustic feel. We rented the smaller cabin at Montezuma Heights over Christmas and we stayed 3 nights. I write this review with mixed feelings.

The location really is out of the way if you don't have a car. I am active / fit and would never dare to walk to Montezuma or the beach. It is at the top of a hill so long curvy roads all the way. Downhill going down, uphill going back. Also the roads are not the best but that is to be expected. What I especially didn't like was the owner's directions. As the location is not on GPS, they have a hand drawn map. While this sounds ok, the map is badly drawn and inaccurate. I am from the country side and can always find what I am looking for but this took me over 2 hours to find. I even had to call the owner to tell him I was lost and while he tried to help verbally we really were on our own to find it. Very, very frustrating and I warn you now, unless he tweaks his map, you will not find this place. What made it up for this? The view - it was stunning! The cabin is perched on top of the cliffs and the view of the ocean is absolutely incredible. There is a view of the beach which we loved and went every day - very private as it is just outside Montezuma.

The kitchen is rather small and does not have a convection oven like most cabins do. Just a hot plate and a mini fridge so if you plan on cooking, plan accordingly. With regards to groceries I would suggest a trip to the Pali in Cobano as prices are cheaper then in the town of Montezuma.

The bed is ok and there is an insect net which we used every night. There is an outdoor shower which was really nice. In the back yard, there is a table and two chairs to eat. There is no table or chairs inside (I am not sure why as there is space for a small one in the veranda). It would of been nice to sit inside and play cards at night. There is also a lawn chair which should be replaced and a hammock which you couldn't use because the way the hooks are set up, when you try and get in the hammock, the wood handles swing and hit the glass window on the cabin. In fear of breaking the window, we decided it was best to avoid the hammock which is a shame. There was no house keeping, which is fine as we aren't messy. Overall the overall experience just felt flat.

One last point, I wish they would of at least put up a string of lights or something like that to make his guests feel like it was Christmas. It would of been a nice touch and would of perhaps made the stay special.

Would I stay again? I don't think so. A tip to the owner - just put a little bit more love and care into the cabin, property and the overall business. It really does have so much potential.

Room Tip: Have a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a million dollar property for small change. When you walk through the gates for the first time - and each time thereafter, you are transported to private lush jungle enclave. The cabin (Colirbi) is perched on the edge of the bluff so you get the sense that you are on a ship's bow. It is built entirely out of re-purposed reclaimed materials. I figured correctly that the century old breezeway doors were the seeds for the design of Colibri. The mosaic tiles, paint, window treatments, fixtures et al give depth beauty and texture to your home away from home. The size was perfect for 2 adults, but could easily accommodate one more person. The outdoor living areas double the footprint.

As others have mentioned, upon arrival, Peter gave us a little time to peek around and then came over to explain some details of the cabin, answer questions and then offered to give us a ride back to town. This was a very meaningful gesture that allowed us to acclimate to his space and the village.

We rented a 2x4 quad for the duration of our stay. We never wished for vehicle. We brought a soft sided cooler from home that was our day-bag. Others here have been alarmed by the road to the Heights. We did not find it challenging at all.

Our trip took place over the first week of September. It rained each day or night. And the rain was always perfect and generally brief. After one particularly long overnight rain, the waterfalls became too muddy to enjoy and subsequently the ocean became too murky for good snorkeling. Our to-do list was never completed because there is SO MUCH to do in this area. Our plans would change with the wind. Lots of magic happened each day.

We both had the sense that we had found THE perfect spot in Montezuma area to call home away from home. We would be lucky to return and still find this place available to us. Very Very expensive homes have been built in this area and this little piece of unique and personal paradise seems fleeting.

Room Tip: We chose Colibri for the sleeping loft. I did not tour the other cabin but am convinced of its qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
873PeterK873, Owner at Montezuma Heights, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thanks a lot for the beautiful review, we really appreciate it, hope to see you again here. You guy's brought a nice energy into our cabin. Big hugs to the mountains of Arkansas

Peter and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in Mariposa cabin for three nights. We were bummed that Colibri was booked, but LOVED Mariposa (and actually prefer it for the patio)! You are well equipped with everything you could possibly need, kitchen and otherwise. The views alone make it worth the stay: waking up and sitting on the patio looking down at the white waves crashing over the rocks under gorgeous foliage. It was so quiet and peaceful.
Peter has a gate to come in and out of as you please. We walked to town the first day, which wasn't too bad and was very scenic. However, the Heights are off the beaten path so trips to town are kind of a pain if you plan on traveling to town and around a lot. I would recommend renting a vehicle if so (we rented an ATV from a nice gentleman in town for $160 for two days). Peter is never more than a few paces away and speaks English, which is helpful if you're staying in an area where you don't speak the language and aren't familiar with the area (another reason I'd recommend staying here if that is the case). Adorable and playful Luna the lab is another reason :)
Other bonuses:
- Close to Montezuma Falls and Mariposa Gardens
- About ten minutes from town
- Very hot shower (I was worried about this, as I like it scalding. It was perfect!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montezuma Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Heights

Address: calle Horizontes, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty lodging in Montezuma
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Really private and save pacific overviewing cottages made with lot´s of love and detail. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.