We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Beach Houses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Beach Houses
Save
You added Montezuma Beach Houses to your Saves list
500 metros norte de la Escuela, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We, 3 couples stayed in the beach villa in Feb. After corresponding with the owners for several months, who answered all my questions and were very helpful we finally arrived. The beach villa has 2 upstairs bedrooms modest but very nice each with their own bath and balcony. The linens were nice and there was plenty of storage and closet space. The downstairs bedroom had air conditioning and a computer w/ internet. We found the kitchen area to have everything we needed to prepare meals. The pool was great and went spend a lot of time around it and in the outdoor porches. The views from the house are beautiful the ocean is a a few steps away. I loved hearing the waves at night. The proximity of the house to the town is great close enough to walk, but just enough away to feel secluded. The staff at the house were helpful and sweet Having laundry available was a great help and made packing for the trip easier. There is a 1/2 bath, pool side and was very convient while lounging by the pool. My only complaint is the house could use a little TLC and attention to details. I would return without hesitation. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We came out last April with a group of friends, most of our group stayed in the Treehouse... my boyfriend and I stayed in one of the lock-off units above the main house. Our room was incredible! It wasn't intended as a romantic getaway, but the room really did encourage that sentiment - beautiful woodwork, cathedral ceilings, canopy bed, crashing waves right outside our window. The view from the deck was awesome, looking straight out towards the beach, literally just a hop skip and a jump. The groundskeepers do a magnificent job with the landscaping; we were surrounded by luscious tropical plants, flowers and fruit trees... watching the wild monkeys was really a treat! We enjoyed the pool and often had time to chat with the owners (who couldn't have been more accommodating!).

The location is great... it feels secluded and away from reality without actually being more than a 5 minute walk from town!

I would absolutely return and hope to soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I stayed at Montezuma Beach Houses as a part of the accommodation for the Peaks n Swells Surf Camp and I loved it. The location was was incredibly perfect. Montezuma Beach Houses sits right on the beach, its private location and peaceful atmosphere allowed me to relax into beach life immediately. I enjoyed the very short walk to town each morning and night to go surfing. If you want the calming ocean waves and fresh air to put you to sleep at night, then I would highly recommend Montezuma Beach houses. Also, if you get a chance to check out the Peaks n Swells Surf Camp at the same time, I guarantee you will want to stay forever!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Our family stayed at the Beach House the week of Thanksgiving. We had a wonderful time. The property is located right next to the beach. The beach in front had safe waves for the kids to boogie board. A good surfing beach was within walking distance. We had a kitchen in the house to use, so we did not have to eat out for every meal. The grounds were beautiful. The owners, Karen and George, were very nice and gave us information about restaurants and activities in the area. Montezuma is a clean, safe town with good shopping and restaurants. We are already talking about when we can go back to visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I traveled with my sister and her husband to Montezuma Costa Rica last Fall and stayed that the best beach house ever. Located just a short walk down the beach from town the main house was beautiful. Right on the beach with a pool this was the most relaxing vacations ever. The wild life was everywhere, monkeys, eguanias and birds.

The House was beautiful with hard wood beams, nice tile, and a great kitchen in which to make fruity rum drinks. The out door BBQ and bar was great fun.

The Surfing is great! Playa Grande and national park is just a short walk to the north and has excellent beginner and medium waves. Mal Paize (SP?) about a 30 min drive has the big waves on the other side of the peninsula. Cabo Blanco is another awesome national park just 5 miles to the south on the tip.

We surfed about half the time renting boards from the locals. So much fun. I hear a new Surf Camp just started called Peaks n Swells that is operating out of Montezuma Beach Houses. I am going to have to make that my next trip.

Montezuma the town is lots of fun with great bars, restaurants and arts. I would highly recommend people planning to go to Costa Rica to take the time and make Montezuma and these beach houses a priority. Montezuma Beach House Vacation is the best of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Beach House for 3 nights. It was absolute paradise. You can see the ocean and hear the waves crashing from every room in the house. You can only access the house from the beach, which added to its charm and appeal. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. During our second day in Montezuma, instead of seeing points of interest, we opted to spend the day and night at the house. Arguably the house was as magical and lovely as anywhere else in Montezuma. We almost stayed at an expensive resort (much more expensive than the house), but were so pleased with our decision; not because we saved money, but because we knew there would've been no comparison. I would highly recommend staying there. We travel quite a bit and both agreed that this is one of the best accommodations we have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our group rented the main house and the tree house....we were so very pleased.....Everything about the grounds was perfect...We did read a negative review, and can't figure out why....It is paradise....Monkeys, iguanas, frogs and even horses one morning when we woke up.....We also felt very safe there and the grounds keepers are so nice and helpful, we never heard them..they never kept us up...If we needed help with the computer, they were there to help.....We would see the groundskeepers at the beach with children and they were so cute and enjoyable....the town is a short walk on the beach, be sure to bring a flashlight....We walked the beach, all times of day and night, and everything was very safe....The main house has a master bedroom on the main floor, the other two bedrooms are located on the second floor, which is accessed by stairs outside...so this does not work well if traveling with young children...We loved staying here...Hopefully we will be back soon...

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montezuma Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Beach Houses

Address: 500 metros norte de la Escuela, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Beach Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.