We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do when in Costa Rica.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour

SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour
150 mts northwest of Hotel Amor de Mar, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506-2642-0808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Activities in Montezuma
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: WATERFALLS ZIP LINE TOURS The canopy consists of a series of 9 cables, 13 platforms that are suspended high above the forest floor. While on the canopy tour you will see a number of plants and animals unique to Costa Rica, possibly including howler and white-faced monkeys, parrots, iguanas and much more. During the tour we stop at the famous waterfalls where you can take pictures and go for a swim in the pools carved by the cascading waters. After that we´ll stop in Montezuma, so you can have some time to shop and look around.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A must do when in Costa Rica.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I'll admit, I was terrified to zip line right up to the moment I went on the first line. Of course, I am so glad that I did it. The location was amazing, and there just isn't quite anything like zipping high above the jungle trees. There were 10 lines of varying lengths. Midway through, we took a 30 minute stop at the falls and pools to play in the water. Gorgeous. The excursion was $40 USD, and you're looking at an additional $20 USD for a copy of the DVD documenting your experience with the small group you tour with.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    9
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montezuma, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hiking to the falls with Carlos (not with Sun Tours)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Several people reviewing the Sun Tour have referred to a friendly young guide named Carlos. We were hiking to the falls from the parking lot near town ($2 parking, or free on the road), when he insisted on showing us the safe way. We thought he was going to show us the trailhead, but he kept going on down the trail with us. When we arrived at the lower falls, which are only a few hundred feet down the trail, he took us on the trail marked with yellow dots. This is a free trail on public land, but it is sketchy in places, especially when it is wet, because the climb goes up and down muddy banks with roots and old ropes (and considerable exposure). Fine for the young and adventurous, but for $2 you can take a trail maintained by Sun tours which is an improved and safe trail. It turns off to the left shortly before the lower falls We didn't know it at the time, because Carlos pointed us down a different trail to the right. At the lower falls, he insisted that another family join our group. To make a long story short, this bossy young man insisted at the end of the trip that the cost of his guiding service is $35 per person. He would take less (only $25) because we weren't going through a hotel. If you are going to spend that kind of money, I recommend going with the zip line tour, and the paid guides will then take you on the improved trail to the upper falls. We wouldn't go with Carlos again. We did end up paying him (he demanded $40 per family), but in hind site, we were scammed by an insistent young "salesman." Setting the "guide" services to the side, the upper falls were great.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, Usa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I went on the Waterfall Canopy Tour in Montezuma over our honeymoon and had a great time. Juan Carlos was our guide, and he was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. He speaks very good English, which was a relief after almost a week of trying to rely on high school and college Spanish classes!

We chose to do the canopy trek instead of the zipline, and had a great time talking to JC and walking through the forest. He took us to a set of waterfalls that were beautiful, and one of them was small enough that you could jump off of it! We hung around there and swam a bit before he took us into the town of Montezuma.

In Montezuma, we had about an hour before the van came and picked us up, which was a perfect amount of time to walk around a bit and then sit down for a snack at one of the ocean-front restaurants.

It was a wonderful experience and I suggest it highly!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our 5 year old even did it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great fun. Several zip line segments from very short to a couple really long ones to give you a great tour of the canopy and river below. We even went with our 5 year old and the guides were great.. A couple of the shorter runs they sent her on her own.. One person launched her and another caught her on the other end, but on most of the legs a guide went with her tandem and got her across. She loved it.

A stop at the waterfall for about 30 minutes was nice, but she was a bit too small to jump the 15 ft or so and swim back to the edge so we stayed on the rocks and played in the puddles. The stairs back on the return trip might be a little hard on some young kids, so make sure if you go with kids they are strong enough to walk up a couple hundred stairs on their own.. And do it in the morning and make sure they're well rested!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lots of fun - I wanted to do it again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

It was the first time we )couple in our 30's) had been on a canopy tour and we both absolutely loved it! The staff were really friendly and helpful and made us feel safe. The zip lines are really fun. Yes, there are some which are pretty short but there are some which are really long and fast. The waterfall was lovely, there was no one there when we arrived so it was very peaceful and then just one local arrived who put on a bit of a show for us jumping from a big tree into the falls. I wanted to do it all again and would definitely recommend it altough can't compare to other zip lines.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;