We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ride on the line” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour

SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour
150 mts northwest of Hotel Amor de Mar, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506-2642-0808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 activities in Montezuma
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: WATERFALLS ZIP LINE TOURS The canopy consists of a series of 9 cables, 13 platforms that are suspended high above the forest floor. While on the canopy tour you will see a number of plants and animals unique to Costa Rica, possibly including howler and white-faced monkeys, parrots, iguanas and much more. During the tour we stop at the famous waterfalls where you can take pictures and go for a swim in the pools carved by the cascading waters. After that we´ll stop in Montezuma, so you can have some time to shop and look around.
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome ride on the line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an adventure that I highly recommend you take when in Costa Rica. The staff here was AMAZING. They are all pretty young kids but they know what they are doing and you feel very safe. The waterfall at the end was so fun. We were allowed an hour to swim and jump off the cliffs and swing on the ropes to our hearts delight. We saw some monkeys and beautiful birds. The price was very reasonable and I suggest getting the DVD that they add at the end for an extra $20 US dollars. Everyone that is on the tour will be on the DVD but that is OK as you get to watch yourself taking a trip down the lines and then jumping off the waterfalls or playing in the water. What a great adventure!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“swim is a bonus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Zip lining is fun, no matter what. But stopping half-way and swimming in the river is a fabulous bonus. The river opens into pools and waterfalls, and provides the perfect spot to cool down and be a kid. The guides were friendly and capable, and a photographer followed along so we got great shots of ourselves. This was way fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A thrilling adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Zip lining is a must in Montezuma, what a fun experience!! The guides were fabulous, they make you feel safe from the start and they are fun! I was a little nervous for the first zip line, so a guide went on my first run with me. After that I felt confident to go on my own. You always have the ability to control how fast you go. There was a lady in our group who just couldn't get over her fear and the guides did a great job of calming her nerves, they accompanied her on her runs when she needed them.
There are 9 total zip lines and halfway through you stop at the waterfalls for a swim. Bring your swim suit, the water is so refreshing! Some of the climbs to the zip lines are a workout, but don't let that deter you, it's worth it! The views from the zip lines are amazing. We also heard and saw howler monkeys. There is a photo guy that captures pictures and videos for you, you can purchase the CD for $20 at the end. We were short on cash, so he agreed to meet us in town later that evening so we could purchase the CD. Now that's great customer service! They also give your bottled water at the end of your tour, which was much needed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Owner at SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we try to improve every day so that the customer is happy
Thanks
William Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great excursion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

These guys are wonderful - it's safe, fun and great for all ages (Our group had 10-74 and some fear of heights!!!) Highly recommended for an afternoon off from the beach. Wear your bathing suit - you can go swimming in the top waterfall! Also, there is quite a lot of climbing of stairs, windy paths etc. so you need to be reasonably fit, but certainly it isn't arduous. They also take really good pictures AND shoot video of everybody which means that, if you're the family photographer like me, for 20C you can leave the darned camera at home and enjoy yourself!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding scenery, great guides, safe zipline experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a group of 10 people take this zipline tour. The trip started out with a brief safety discussion after getting our harnesses fitted. The guides are well trained and make everyone in our group feel very comfortable and safe. All the equipment appeared to be in very good condition as well. The location of the trip is in a dense jungle area above the Montezuma waterfalls area. As noted in some other reviews, some of the zips are pretty short and there are a lot of them (9 if I recall correctly). However, 3 of the zips are very long and go over river area just above the waterfalls. The ocean is also visible in several areas. The price of the trip was very reasonable and everyone in our group had a great time. I brought my own camera with me on the trip and tried to take pictures, but they didn't turn out too great. Fortunately, one of the guides is a cameraman who took many pictures and videos of our entire group along the way. When we got back to the trip office, they had the pictures loaded up into the computer and showed us a slideshow. Their pictures were excellent quality and they burned us a CD of everything for $20. I normally don't buy pictures from tour operators like this, but I'm VERY glad we did in this case. Given that there is some fairly strenuous hiking involved in this trip, I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who is not in decent physical condition. Don't forget to tip your guides at the end of the trip. The group we had with us did a great job.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Owner at SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for your feedback our staff feels great when people appreciate our work
Thanks
William Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour to your Saves list