We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best waterfall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour

SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour
150 mts northwest of Hotel Amor de Mar, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506-2642-0808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 activities in Montezuma
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: WATERFALLS ZIP LINE TOURS The canopy consists of a series of 9 cables, 13 platforms that are suspended high above the forest floor. While on the canopy tour you will see a number of plants and animals unique to Costa Rica, possibly including howler and white-faced monkeys, parrots, iguanas and much more. During the tour we stop at the famous waterfalls where you can take pictures and go for a swim in the pools carved by the cascading waters. After that we´ll stop in Montezuma, so you can have some time to shop and look around.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

The waterfall was stunning and everyone in costa rica is nice and happy so they helped out a lot with tips in zip lining

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding canopy zip line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I took our two grown sons and their friend on this excursion and were not disappointed! We all had a great time and were impressed with the beauty of the surroundings. The guides are fun and professional. The canopy in which we zip lined was stunning. Since it's so hot here, it is also nice that you are in the shade of the canopy during the entire excursion. We ran some very long lines at high speeds, which everyone loved. About halfway through we stopped for about 30 minutes for a dip in the river. Bring your camera because you can get lot's of great pics on this trip.

There bathrooms at the launching point were out of order, and there weren't any others in the area. They should fix that issue.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Super Fun, Professional, Experienced and GORGEOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My friends and I have been to Costa Rica two times now, and have done the same Canopy tour in Montezuma through Sun TRails twice. The instructors are professional, speak english very well, and showed us the jungle of Montezuma with professional equipment and a fun atmosphere. Towards the end of the canopy tour there is a very large waterfal that the guides walk you down to for swimming. There are MANY stairs up and down. If you have trouble walking up lots of flights of stairs you may consider staying up above and waiting for the rest of the group to come back. There are something like 160 steps to the waterfall. It is amazing once you arrive and very refeshing. Wear water shoes or tennis shoes as the rocks are slippery! Take a camera or water camera would be even better! Enjoy- and be sure to leave a tip for the guides if you had fun.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The best we have been on and we have been on many canopy tours. We will go back soon.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernigerode, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome,fun experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

They picked us up around 9am at our hotel and we went directly to the Canopy place. When we arrived they helped us inmediately with the equipment and 5mins later we were hanging on a cable, crossing rivers and the forest. It was an advanture and especially the stop at the waterfall is fun. I never did Canopy before and I was actually scared of the hight at the beginning, but in the end I just enjoyed myself and did not want it to stop. If you consider doing Canopy in Costa Rica, do it there!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added SunTrails Montezuma Waterfall Canopy Tour to your Saves list