We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Pacific Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Save
You added Montezuma Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Charm ☼ Proximity ☼ Reasonable Rates in Paradise

The Hotel Montezuma Pacifico is the ideal affordable hotel located within a short walking distance to the lively town of Montezuma, Costa Rica.

The proximity to everything is ideal from the Hotel Montezuma Pacifico yet it is off the main road, unlike many other hotels near or in Montezuma. The hotel is nestled in at the end of a forested area with two other hotels buffering the noise from the main road. A walk through a small park that partly fronts the hotel transports you to the magical town of Montezuma.

Hotel Montezuma Pacifico affords a great home base within walking distance to discover the stunning warm water beaches and water falls.

The room we stayed in for 7 nights afforded us big windows with the view of a courtyard and garden
with levels of tropical flowers and trees with beautiful stone and rock work. We had 2 beds, two bathrooms
including two big walk-in showers. Our room had a flat screen TV and air conditioner. They are in the process of upgrading including adding a community kitchen and fresh produce will be available. An atrium is lovely to
see on the second floor, in addition there are several upper sitting areas to catch the evening breeze.
The wood and tile work is reminiscent of old world charm. Delicious Costa Rican hot coffee every morning
is provided by hotel. Good security, safe hotel.

The staff is friendly and helpful at Hotel Montezuma Pacifico and the owner Carlos is charismatic, and is
Bi-lingual, which was good for us whose Spanish is just un poco. He was especially helpful and generous with his time when he helped us resolve a dispute we had with another hotel. He can provide useful advice about the area and the easiest way to get around on the budget you have.

We had an exceptional time in Montezuma and the Hotel Montezuma Pacifico was a big part in allowing us to steep in the beautiful Costa Rican culture and environment.
.
Contact information:
Hotel Name: Hotel Montezuma Pacifico
Owner: Carlos Vargas
PH: 506-2642-0204 or 506-2642-0970
Email: info@hotelmontezumapacifico.com

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conniejulia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Nice, clean hotel away form all the street noise but easy walking distance to it if you want it. We loved Montezuma so much, we didn't want to leave. Tucked away off the village park, the rooms were spacious and clean. Air conditioning was wonderful. Quick walk to the beach and downtown. Complimentary coffee in the morning. Fridge in the room kept my beer nice and cold. Communal area up top to enjoy a coffee or grab a book from their lending library. Staff was very friendly but a bit of a language barrier, but we managed ok. I would definetly recommend this hotel. It was a great price for all the space and location (comfortable king size bed). You gotta check it out, you won;t be sorry.

Room Tip: We had the 2nd last room from the end. Howler monkeys right outside your door in the trees. Iguana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JYoung848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We arrived later in the day, not realizing it was a long weekend, so the place we had originally thought of staying at was fully booked. After looking into a few other places, Carlos was the deal breaker. He was very kind and accommodating, made sure we had all we needed, gave us a deal on the room as it was small for us and our 2 children, but moved us to a bigger room the next day. Free coffee in the morning, great location, away from all the noise, hotel is cute, rooms are clean, service is excellent and Carlos is a charming host.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verocaminando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just returned from a backpacking trip in Costa Rica. Our favourite place....montezumo and pacific hotel. Carlos was so helpful and welcoming.....it was so hard to leave after three nights. The nice king size bec, the clean rooms and the quiet area made for a great experience. Would stay here again in a heart beat. Thank you Carlos for your hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great, comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay for a decent price. Clean and quiet rooms. Most of all, Sr Carlos, the owner is a very resourceful and serviceable person who will help and support you in every way.

Muchas Gracias Sr Carlos !

Germain Veilleux, Québec, Canada.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank germain v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

First I should start by saying this hotel is super clean and accommodating with Hostel rates!! My group had 5 people, and NOBODY would accommodate us because it was a large group. Carlos offered up two rooms at a discounted rate and said there was no way he could leave us on the street.(He knew every other place was booked solid because he spent time calling many places for us!!) After we got settled, he said the kitchen was closed in the busy season because it was small and didnt have room for 40 guests to cook simultaneously, However, he went out of his way to open the kitchen for our group as long as we kept it clean and quiet. He guarded our belongings and our rental car.The beds were awesome and the pillows were equally awesome. the AC was ice cold and even had a small fridge and a flat screen tv. Close to all the action, no crazy hike to get back and very secure. Bottom line is this place was great! Zero complaints!! Thanks Carlos for taking care of me and my friends! A+++++ -

Room Tip: Out front, Bottom Floor. These rooms have their own entrance, seperate from the main reception area,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieRich818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We have been travelling around costa rica for a week, and this is certainly one of the best value for quality/price ratio hotels we have been so far. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and have air-con and a fridge. Its all you need for a good price. The owner, Carlos, is a great man. Very friendly and helpful. I strongly recommend this place if you are in montezuma for a couple of nights.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Groyo-villanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#16 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.6 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montezuma Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Pacific Hotel

Address: Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the heart of the charming town of Montezuma. Montezuma Pacific is in a serene location yet right next to the city park and the church, close to all the businesses and the beaches. We offer clean rooms, all with private bathrooms, hot water, A/C, cable TV, in-room safe, mini-fridge and a friendly Costa Rican staff. The hotel also features a common balcony for relaxing, reading, and using free high-speed wireless internet. There are common kitchens and eating areas available for your convenience. We look forward to having you as a guest at Montezuma Pacific! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing