We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location and Quite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Pacific Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing Location and Quite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Service: Carlos is an awesome owner! There was coffee every morning and he greets you with a warm smile and a friendly hello. He helped us with our luggage and walked us to our room. I think he lives here which would explain the pride he takes in his hotel.

Value: I can't remember what we paid but I know it was reasonable because we were traveling on a very small budget.

Sleep Quality: Excellent! Beds were comfortable and I'll mention this again at the location but because this hotel is not right on the water near the hostels it very quite at night which makes for a great nights rest.

Cleanliness: Clean sheets, clean room, clean bathroom, NO BUGS!

Location: Montezuma is so small that where ever you stay you are close to everything. I will say that not being directly on the water is fantastic because it is quite at night. The location is within a one to two minute walk to the main road and beach. Also the day were leaving there was an adorable farmers market right outside the hotel.

Rooms: We stayed in a room that was outside. Basically you entered the room from outside not the lobby. The room was great. No bugs, clean sheets, clean shower, TV (which I never used), power outlets in convenient spots, wifi signal did not reach my room but once was fine at the lobby area.

Montezuma is an amazing town, it's perfect for people that want to get away and relax. It is not a party town, there is only one bar and an handful of restaurants. There is an amazing waterfall nearby, the hiking awesome, and a great yoga spot (montezuma yoga) near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    28
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
45
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Montezuma Pacific Hotel is in a great location, it's walking distance to the beach and all of the best restaurants and bars. There's a wonderful charm to the hotel and the such friendly, accommodating staff. If you want to do Costa Rica right, you have to visit the Montezuma Pacific Hotel! I had such a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I could not have had a better welcome to Costa Rica by staying at Montezuma Pacific Hotel. The owner Senhor Carlos was extremely helpful and kind helping us with everything and anything ...Very happy with the price and I must say that he does a great job maintaining rooms clean and neat.
We felt at home ! As soon as we woke up we had a Jar of agreat Costa Rican Coffee waiting for us at the lobby area..hummm delicious!! I must say, if you ever stop by Montezuma check it out and you wont regret it!.
By the way the rooms have great hot water, AC,safe, Internet , TV and a little fridge to keep your drinks cool.
I want to thank you Carlos for being there for us when we needed and for your beautiful heart.
God bless you . La Brazilera de Florida Pat

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few nights while and montezuma and found it nice enough out of the other montezuma options. It is run by a wonderful man named Carlos who is always trying to make sure you are doing well, comfortable and safe. The rooms have a/c, hot water, fridges and tv. The basics. No breakfast though. Be warned that the wifi only works in the rooms next to the office. Other than that, the rooms are not immaculately clean, so if you're a neat freak you're just going to have to suck it up. But it's montezuma, that's the way it goes unless you stay at the lyang lyang resort. The location was probably my favorite part. Just a stones throw from the Main Street but quiet enough to avoid the 4 wheelers blairing through the streets in the morning. Overall it was a good value, nice enough to pass a few days to enjoy montezuma, but nothing incredible.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having found Montezuma and it's owner Carlos after rolling into Montezuma a few nights ago we were very pleased with the cleanliness and price of his hotel. The real difference however was the incredible help and effort he made to assist us after having the unfortunate luck of having our backpack stolen while at Mal Pais beach. Carlos helped the coordination and receipt of a new rental car key that had to be flown over from San Jose and also provided a lot of advice and support over the entire incident.

His unsolicited and sincere support helped make a bad situation much better and more importantly reflected a heart and soul that makes us all richer people when we have the opportunity to meet them.

Thanks again Carlos! Your support and kindness will not be forgotten. Hope to see you again soon.

George & Patricia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Friends and I were traveling through Costa Rica for a while by the time we got to Momtezuma. We had read some great reviews about Montezuma Pacifico prior to arranging a three night stay. The rooms are very simple, but are clean, spacious and in a great location. Carlos, the hotel owner, was the icing on the cake. He was extremely kind and accommodating, helping us with matters such as getting laundry done, to giving us tips and directions to and from destinations. I would definitely recommend this place for travelers who are looking for good value and a trusting helping hand - Carlos is the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I wandered into town a few days ago with no reservation anywhere and on a budget. Montezuma Pacifico was the fourth and last place I checked out. It had everything I needed at a great price. It's only a few more dollars than the seedy hostels in town and the rooms are way nicer. Air conditioning, hot shower, a safe, a TV, and a mini-fridge. Most importantly, the bed in the room was king sized, brand new, and extremely comfortable.
It was a one minute walk away from the main street, which is important if you don't want to be woken up at sunup by a bunch of ATVs and dirt bikes driving around. It's a three minute walk to the main beach. I woke up every morning to the sound of birds.
It does not have a party atmosphere, which was appealing to me as I liked to end my nights with a beer or two on the balcony and get to bed peacefully.
Carlos, the owner, is a very accommodating gentleman. He is always around to answer any of your questions about the town, and most noteworthy is the fact that he's completely honest. He will not give a recommendation if he doesn't have one, and he won't attempt to overcharge you like many of the other places/people in town.
If I were to return to Montezuma, I'd definitely head back to this place.

I have a card with a different phone number than the one listed here on Tripadvisor, so I'll write it down here in case it's helpful: 800-722-4342

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montezuma Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Pacific Hotel

Address: Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the heart of the charming town of Montezuma. Montezuma Pacific is in a serene location yet right next to the city park and the church, close to all the businesses and the beaches. We offer clean rooms, all with private bathrooms, hot water, A/C, cable TV, in-room safe, mini-fridge and a friendly Costa Rican staff. The hotel also features a common balcony for relaxing, reading, and using free high-speed wireless internet. There are common kitchens and eating areas available for your convenience. We look forward to having you as a guest at Montezuma Pacific! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Montezuma Pacific Hotel to your Saves list