We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Carlos and his quaint hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Pacific Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love Carlos and his quaint hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed with Carlos on two occasions for a total of 11 peaceful nights in the past two years at the Montezuma Pacific Hotel. My husband and I first met Carlos, the owner, on the ferry to Paquera. We struck up a friendly conversation and after learning that we were headed to Montezuma, he invited us to check out his hotel.
The hotel is simple, very clean and secure. The location cannot be beat. It's right in town behind the church, far enough removed from the main strip to avoid the noise, but easy access to everything. Rooms have strong ac, safes, and hot showers. My favorite is room 5 with its charming private balcony. We saw gorgeous magpie bluejays, iguanas, and even white faced capuchin monkies there. If you're not able to snag room 5, don't fret! There is a large common balcony open to all.
The hotel is a great value for the area but it's greatest appeal for me is Carlos! He is a wonderfully gracious gentleman that shares great conversation over delicious costa rican coffee. Does it get any better? Not that I've found!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    28
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
48
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here on recommendation of my daughter who stayed 2 years before. What a great place. Good, clean, basic rooms at a great value. Comfortable beds, good showers and secure; caty-corner to the cute city park and church. Great upstairs balconies--one for the whole place and another private one for room #5 I think. Sweet.

The best feature thou was Carlos who runs the place. He was so friendly and helpful during our stay. We wanted to do Cabo Blanco early on a Wednesday (after it was closed for 2 days) well before the bus would take us there; he arranged for a taxi to take us and pick us up at the end of the day (our plan worked: we saw scads of wild life, including male Howlers; a whole troop of White-nosed Coati's; ant-eaters; white-faced monkeys!). We asked if he thought we could put together a private "tour" for a day that included snorkeling and fishing. He set us up (4 of us) with "Armando" and his crew ("Pato & Franciso). We spent an awesome day on Armando's Pongo: we dropped off Pato w/ supplies on Tortuga Island and snorkeled for a couple hours... returned to a feast of a lunch Pato cooked--it really blew us away; spent a few hours on the island; trolled on the way home; caught a 30" needle fish; saw 2 hump-backs with their calves; basically did whatever we wanted for the whole day.

Carlos is a very nice man. He makes you feel welcome and helped us have a great time. We'll be going back and staying w/ him again when we can.

Room Tip: Look at room 5 or 7... one of them has a private balcony. The other is just off another balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Great value hotel on a quiet street in montezuma, just set back from the noise of the main town. The room we had was nice and big with two good beds, decent air con, and a big bathroom. Also had safe, fridge a cable tv. Good value place for a town which seems to be much more expensive than it really should be. The owner Carlos is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in March 2013. If you are looking for an inexpensive stay in Montezuma you'll be hard pushed to find anything, the whole area is ridiculously overpriced!

Hotel Pacifico has really clean rooms which included a wardrobe, fridge, safety box and en suite shower room (which my partner got an electric shock from) and the sink leaked. The management offered us another room but we didn't bother to change as left Montezuma the following day.

For the area the rooms are reasonably priced and have really good aircon systems (you will need this in the sweltering heat) although you can help yourself to coffee or tea (no milk) in the morning they do not have an included breakfast or restaurant but you can use the kitchen to cook meals if you want to save money. They also had a common area but we never saw anyone using it and did not meet any other guest, which is a bit of a shame if you are looking to mingle.

Montezuma is very small, so the hotel is within easy walking distance to the beach and main strip of shops and restaurants.

If you plan on visiting Montezuma make sure you have exuberant amounts of money with you as everything is expensive i.e to hire a Quad bike for 6 hours was $60 and to get a shared minibus back to the airport was $55 per person or alternatively don't bother wasting your time or money in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in the first room - we thought it was excellent value with two comfortable beds, great air con. The room was large and well set out although the step up the bathroom was a tiny bit annoying. Coffee as reception in the morning and the owner was extremely helpful and accommodating. The location a bit set away from the main centre but still extremely central was a winner for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in the first room. Very clean but basic. Bed was comfortable and A/C quiet. Bathroom clean with hot shower. In the morning coffee at the reception. The owner Carlos was very helpful. Close to the beach and the entire town although in a little quiet corner helps add value to this property.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in the very first room on the first floor. The room is dark but nice. It has a fridge, safety box, AC, TV and a table with two chairs. I did not like the bathroom, it needs lots of updating, some tiles are broken, the sink's plumbing is glued together with some kind of paste and the toilet was running constantly. The location is perfect, right in town and a quick walk to the beach. The hotel has a nice little kitchen upstairs if someone wants to cook. I think it's a good place to spend a few nights just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montezuma Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Pacific Hotel

Address: Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the heart of the charming town of Montezuma. Montezuma Pacific is in a serene location yet right next to the city park and the church, close to all the businesses and the beaches. We offer clean rooms, all with private bathrooms, hot water, A/C, cable TV, in-room safe, mini-fridge and a friendly Costa Rican staff. The hotel also features a common balcony for relaxing, reading, and using free high-speed wireless internet. There are common kitchens and eating areas available for your convenience. We look forward to having you as a guest at Montezuma Pacific! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Montezuma Pacific Hotel to your Saves list