We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but appropriate for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Pacific Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Save Saved
You added Montezuma Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Montezuma B&B and Inns
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very basic but appropriate for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in the first room. Very clean but basic. Bed was comfortable and A/C quiet. Bathroom clean with hot shower. In the morning coffee at the reception. The owner Carlos was very helpful. Close to the beach and the entire town although in a little quiet corner helps add value to this property.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    29
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
48
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in the very first room on the first floor. The room is dark but nice. It has a fridge, safety box, AC, TV and a table with two chairs. I did not like the bathroom, it needs lots of updating, some tiles are broken, the sink's plumbing is glued together with some kind of paste and the toilet was running constantly. The location is perfect, right in town and a quick walk to the beach. The hotel has a nice little kitchen upstairs if someone wants to cook. I think it's a good place to spend a few nights just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for over a week in february. We had spent over two months in Costa Rica and this hotek was by far the best. Carlos, the owner and manager, is always helpful. The hotel is central, yet quiet. It is clean, secure, and you can use the kitchen if you like. Carlos is so obliging that he even volunteered to waive his commision when he booked us a shuttle from Montezuma to Liberia!! The hotel is worth twice the money.

Room Tip: Corner suite, second floor. Room 8, I think. A/C, fridge, flat-screen TV, king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great place to stay. One of the most reasonable rates in town. Carlos, the owner speaks very good English and is extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are neat and clean and have A/C. The location is very central and although their is no pool it is only a five minute walk to the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was a fantastic place to stay in Montezuma. The rooms were clean, comfortable and our room had its own terrace and there was a communal terrace also. Close to everything, but far enough back from the road, to be peaceful.

Carlos makes you feel really at home and he has a wonderful outlook. He is a genuine and lovely man. We were greeted with a hug on arrival and the next morning with amazing coffee, enthusiasm and advice. All the people that worked there were very happy and friendly.

I was very happy there and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Pacific for about 5 nights in Dec 2012. Carlos, the owner, is FANTASTIC! He really made the stay that much more enjoyable.
The hotel is just off of the main street, which makes it quieter than those on the main street. You can leave the hotel and walk 30 seconds to the main street, so it's still very close. And you are very close to the beach (maybe 100m). We had visits from iguanas, cappuchin monkeys, and other criiters while sitting on the communal balcony upstairs.
Our 3 year old daughter was sick during our stay and Carlos was invaluable in helping us get care for her in the next town. He is full of honest advice and has great staff working for him.
The hotel itself is not a 5 star resort....they were renovating when we were there, which the hotel needs a bit. But it's clean, has warm showers, AC, a fridge, parking, is quiet, and is comfortable. And they make a mean cup of coffee, served all day in reception! Our family would easily stay there again if we ever head there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main floor are cooler but not necessary, as I think every room has A/C. The upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Carlos, the owner, takes a personal and genuine interest in his guests, and is a wonderful host. This small hotel is kept clean, and has a kind of charm you usually don't expect in an older hotel. A kitchen is provided for guest use. The hotel seems to be under constant improvement with work currently under way on a brick and tile barbeque and oven, also for guest use. Monkeys, iguanas, and numerous birds frequently appear on the property. Hotel is located on the Northeast corner of the one block "downtown" of Montezuma, so access to restaurants, shops, tours and the beach are all within a five minute walk. A truly great value for a low priced hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montezuma Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Pacific Hotel

Address: Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the heart of the charming town of Montezuma. Montezuma Pacific is in a serene location yet right next to the city park and the church, close to all the businesses and the beaches. We offer clean rooms, all with private bathrooms, hot water, A/C, cable TV, in-room safe, mini-fridge and a friendly Costa Rican staff. The hotel also features a common balcony for relaxing, reading, and using free high-speed wireless internet. There are common kitchens and eating areas available for your convenience. We look forward to having you as a guest at Montezuma Pacific! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.