We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Opposite of a Sterile, Faceless, Corporate Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Pacific Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Save Saved
You added Montezuma Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
“The Opposite of a Sterile, Faceless, Corporate Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Carlos, the owner, takes a personal and genuine interest in his guests, and is a wonderful host. This small hotel is kept clean, and has a kind of charm you usually don't expect in an older hotel. A kitchen is provided for guest use. The hotel seems to be under constant improvement with work currently under way on a brick and tile barbeque and oven, also for guest use. Monkeys, iguanas, and numerous birds frequently appear on the property. Hotel is located on the Northeast corner of the one block "downtown" of Montezuma, so access to restaurants, shops, tours and the beach are all within a five minute walk. A truly great value for a low priced hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    29
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
48
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I have been all over Central America and the Caribbean, and we highly recommend this place. Montezuma is a really nice little town with nice beaches and other activities in the area, but it can be expensive, especially in season. Hotel Montezuma Pacifico is a great value. Carlos, the owner and manager, is a real throwback – he actually wants satisfied customers and will go out of his way to ensure that your stay is as pleasant as possible. Ask about his newly-developed accommodations downstairs as well as Wi-Fi and kitchen access.
This hotel has the advantage of not being directly on a main street, but within walking distance of everything. Montezuma can be a little noisy at night, especially on weekends, but being in this spot is not NEARLY as loud as being on the main streets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

There were 6 of us traveling to Costa Rica in 2007. We were excited to meet up with our friends from Minnisota & looking forward to spending time together. We made it to Montezume & found this little hotel run by Carlos & his staff.
They were very helpful & we were very relaxed there. Our last night there & 6 days into our month long vacation we were getting ready to have our last dinner when my brother in-law called me up to their room. My sister was in distress & needed medical help. I was shaken to my core because it was a life or death situation & she needed help fast. Carlos took over & got a doctor, a helicopter & personally got our group to San Jose. He also came to visit us while we waited for my sister to recover from surgery. We continued our trip thanks to the quick thinking of Carlos & hope to see our HERO again. Thanks so very much Carlos. We are forever in your debt for saving my sisters life...We were very comfortable at this hotel & it is very convient to the town & beaches. Love it!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Montezuma for 3 nights, our rooms were directly out to the path in front of the hotel, so ground floor and cooler than upstairs. The place is run by Carlos, who is a very friendly, helpful person and he offers free coffee or tea in his reception area all day long. The rooms were clean and nice, with aircon, although the bathrooms could do with a bit of renovation, the shower tiles are rather stained with hard water residue. Unfortunately there is no breakfast served, even though there is a breakfast area where this could be done, but I suppose the right staff for this is missing. It would make it even nicer if there was breakfast. But you can use the facilities of the kitchen to make your own lunch or breakfast, if you so wish. We felt very safe in this hotel, because there is always someone sitting in front of the hotel, watching the place. This is quite ensuring, so you can leave your stuff and go for walks or hikes and swims, without feeling awkward. Carlos is doing up the inside court of his hotel, to create a nice patio with a grill/oven, a fountain and some funky lighting. Will be interesting to see how that comes out, but building is still going on. We wish you luck and many guests, who will appreciate this very relaxed place, in a great location, near to beach, restaurants, shops and yet quiet at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. It's very good value - (not as the rough Guide suggests one of the more expensive places). The owner / Manager Carlos is really friendly, professional and helpful and has been in the town for 28 years. The beds were great, rooms really clean and cleaned daily. You have good hot showers. Free coffee in the morning - a kitchen guests can use (and so keep your costs down so you don't have to eat out all the time). The place is very central but round the back of the park so AWAY from the bustly, sometimes noisy main street.

Room Tip: ground floor room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been to Montezuma multiple times, and every time I stay here, and will continue to do so. It is located 2 blocks from the beach, with AC, wireless, and cable. It is also extremely cheap as compared to the other options in the town, many of which are overpriced simply because they know tourists will pay it.

What really makes the stay however is the owner - he's a really great guy, and will go out of his way to help. Above all though, you get the feeling that he generally is concerned with your well being. For many people uncertainty is what makes traveling the most difficult, and he (Carlos I believe his name is) is happy to provide advice and assistance where needed.

If I'm looking for a negative, this is not a 5 star luxury resort, so if thats what you are looking for go elsewhere.

I for one will stay here everytime

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Montezuma Pacific Hotel is the best deal you can find in the city. It is in a great location (1 min walk away from the beach/all the restaurants and shops) but still nice and quite. The rooms are spacious and clean with air conditioning and hot water. On top of all of this the owner was VERY kind and helpful, he went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay and gave us tips on where to go. I highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montezuma Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Pacific Hotel

Address: Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the heart of the charming town of Montezuma. Montezuma Pacific is in a serene location yet right next to the city park and the church, close to all the businesses and the beaches. We offer clean rooms, all with private bathrooms, hot water, A/C, cable TV, in-room safe, mini-fridge and a friendly Costa Rican staff. The hotel also features a common balcony for relaxing, reading, and using free high-speed wireless internet. There are common kitchens and eating areas available for your convenience. We look forward to having you as a guest at Montezuma Pacific! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.