We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet hotel in the centre of Montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Pacific Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Save
You added Montezuma Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great, quiet hotel in the centre of Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. It's very good value - (not as the rough Guide suggests one of the more expensive places). The owner / Manager Carlos is really friendly, professional and helpful and has been in the town for 28 years. The beds were great, rooms really clean and cleaned daily. You have good hot showers. Free coffee in the morning - a kitchen guests can use (and so keep your costs down so you don't have to eat out all the time). The place is very central but round the back of the park so AWAY from the bustly, sometimes noisy main street.

Room Tip: ground floor room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    31
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
55
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been to Montezuma multiple times, and every time I stay here, and will continue to do so. It is located 2 blocks from the beach, with AC, wireless, and cable. It is also extremely cheap as compared to the other options in the town, many of which are overpriced simply because they know tourists will pay it.

What really makes the stay however is the owner - he's a really great guy, and will go out of his way to help. Above all though, you get the feeling that he generally is concerned with your well being. For many people uncertainty is what makes traveling the most difficult, and he (Carlos I believe his name is) is happy to provide advice and assistance where needed.

If I'm looking for a negative, this is not a 5 star luxury resort, so if thats what you are looking for go elsewhere.

I for one will stay here everytime

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Montezuma Pacific Hotel is the best deal you can find in the city. It is in a great location (1 min walk away from the beach/all the restaurants and shops) but still nice and quite. The rooms are spacious and clean with air conditioning and hot water. On top of all of this the owner was VERY kind and helpful, he went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay and gave us tips on where to go. I highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The owner is a totally awesome and accommodating guy, gave us low-season prices despite it being technically high season, allowed us to use his kitchen to cook, and ended up charging us even a bit less than what he quoted as low season rates.

On top of that, we had two queen beds, super comfy, pristinely clean sheets, great bathroom with a rain-water-fed heated shower, a great, big safe in the room, a fridge, TV with probably 60 or 70 channels, amazing air-con...there was literally nothing else I could have asked for.

It's not a super social place or great place to meet people, so maybe not for you if that's what you're looking for, but it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: I think he prefers that you don't use the kitchen, but if you're on a tight budget, just ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is definitely a plus. Room came with a very good air conditioner, fridge, TV, VERY comfy mattresses, and a private bathroom with a rainfall shower.

But the best part by far is the owner. He was so friendly and helpful! He made sure everything was ok every day, cleaned the room without us asking, was super easy going with pretty much any of our requests (blanket, towels, extra guest, etc.).

Compared to the other places in town this place seemed like a steal (keeping in mind that in high season everywhere is going to be expensive). I'd recommend this to anyone who stays in beautiful Momtezuma!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We found this hotel randomly, late at night! What a great unexpected surprise: very clean place, hot water, air conditioning, a fridge in your room, a KITCHEN that you can use, a very cute balcony where you can read or eat and the sweetest owner in town! Carlos really care about his guests and their safety. The beach is really close and you are just far enough from the town "noise". Enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel manager Carlos made our stay extra special! Never have we ever met such a wonderful, helpful man, who clearly loves his guests! Our room was huge, had two double beds to choose from, safety box, full-size fridge, and AC. No bugs and everything was really clean. Maybe not the latest fashion, but surely more than you can ask for, for a price a lot less than the neighboring hotel. But as said, the owner was the best; he went the extra mile to arrange our bus tickets, and he even let us use their kitchen, which came in handy as the prices of Montezuma are not the cheapest. Highly recommended!
Muchísimas gracias a Carlos, y saludos desde Nicaragua! ;)

Room Tip: The owner will show you several rooms if there is space, so you can choose the one you like the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Montezuma Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Pacific Hotel

Address: Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the heart of the charming town of Montezuma. Montezuma Pacific is in a serene location yet right next to the city park and the church, close to all the businesses and the beaches. We offer clean rooms, all with private bathrooms, hot water, A/C, cable TV, in-room safe, mini-fridge and a friendly Costa Rican staff. The hotel also features a common balcony for relaxing, reading, and using free high-speed wireless internet. There are common kitchens and eating areas available for your convenience. We look forward to having you as a guest at Montezuma Pacific! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.