We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, comfortable, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Pacific Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Save
You added Montezuma Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Central, comfortable, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent four comfortable nights here. Montezuma is all of two or three blocks long and chock full of restaurant,housing and beach choices. There are hostels for backpackers and high-end choices for people who want saunas. This is a reasonable choice for people who want economy along with comfortable mattresses, a/c, wifi and cable. Be aware that you'll need to buy drinking water everywhere.
The prices quoted by other visitors for their rooms may have been low season rates. We paid more. Ymmv.
Also, this part of the coast is experiencing a red tide. If you're coming soon, check whether it's still here.
We were lucky enough to stumble across a turtle conservation station on the beach on a day they were releasing turtles into the ocean. Totally unexpected thrill.
We also loved the waterfall just a ten minute walk from the center of town. The climb is a little harder than I expected, but there's a lovely pool near the beginning of the climb where you can sit in the water and wait for the more intrepid in your party who want to make the whole climb. Remember to wear good shoes, a bathing suit and a hat. Lovely!

Room Tip: Upstairs may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
48
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Very clean, great location, Carlos the host is very nice and knowledgable. For 45$ a night we had a huge room, with 2 beds, 2 bathrooms, TV and A/C. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed in Montezuma Pacific for a few nights in November 2011. For approx. 30 US dollars a night had a double room with big private bathroom, aircon, fridge, hot shower, wifi. Room was basic but immaculately clean and comfortable. It was one facing the communal balcony which I mostly had to myself. I spent many a happy hour there watching the wildlife frolicking in the big tree opposite: monkeys, iguanas, squirrels, white-throated magpie jays (made the mistake of feeding them and they got a bit too friendly but got nice photos! :-)). The host, Carlos (I think) was extremely friendly and helpful beyond call of duty. He, for example, made several calls on my behalf trying to find out about bus schedules and road situations and confirming hotel bookings for my forward travel. The location is perfect, just at the end of a little side street off the main street (there is not much more in central Montezuma), so it's quiet but still less than a minute to walk to the restaurants on the main bit and less than 5 min to walk to the beach. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: I had one facing the communal balcony. Can't really say about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Montezuma Pacific is an excellent budget option in this gem of a town. I planned to stay here for a few days but ended up staying for 10 days. The hotel is just one block away from the small strip mall in the downtown and the beach. Although the lobby area and the hallways need to refurbished, the rooms are nice and clean. My room had a refrigerator, A/C, hot water and bright natural fluroscent light – everything in good working order. There is also really good free coffee available all day long.

You also get a chance to see iguanas, squirrels, and other animals from the balcony in the park in front of the hotel. If you get lucky, you may even see a hedgehog.

The owner Carlos is very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at M Pacific for a lovely week in rooms 9, and 5. For $30 a night we had a private balcony, air con, a fridge in our room, hot water and our room cleaned whenever we needed. There is free coffee all morning long, and a big kitchen with an oven and blender among other things. Considering the high prices all over this little town, Montezuma Pacific was the reason we stayed so long! The owner is lovely and helpful, and we spotted so many huge lizards, squirrels, birds etc each morning while enjoying our coffee on our private patio. The wifi is really fast, and there is also a large communal patio space available. I would return here in a heartbeat:)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed for three nights at Montezuma Pacific Hotel. Carlos, our host was really friendly and welcoming. The rooms were really well equipped and simple. You had all that you needed though, a fridge, a/c, etc. Ask for a room on the balcony and that way you can see the amazing wildlife provided by one big tree right outside the hotel. I.e. monkeys, iguanas, birds, squirrels, etc.
The hotel is also conveniently placed in the centre of town, which makes it easy to walk everywhere.i.e, restaurants, supermarket, waterfall, beach.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room with access to the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a great place to stay in montezuma. It is quite and clean and close to everything. Carlos, the owner, is a wonderful host.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montezuma Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Pacific Hotel

Address: Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the heart of the charming town of Montezuma. Montezuma Pacific is in a serene location yet right next to the city park and the church, close to all the businesses and the beaches. We offer clean rooms, all with private bathrooms, hot water, A/C, cable TV, in-room safe, mini-fridge and a friendly Costa Rican staff. The hotel also features a common balcony for relaxing, reading, and using free high-speed wireless internet. There are common kitchens and eating areas available for your convenience. We look forward to having you as a guest at Montezuma Pacific! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.