We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Costa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolores

Cocolores
Behind Hotel Pargo Feliz, Montezuma, Costa Rica
2642-0348
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open for lunch 12:00-4:00pmHappy hour 4:00-6:00pmDinner 6:00-10:00pmAbierto almuerzo 12:00-4:00pmHappy Hour 4:00-6:00pmCena 6:00:10:00pm
Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Restaurant in Costa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed in a Montezuma for 5 nights and ate cocolores 3 of those nights. The food was incredible. Try one of the sea bass dishes. I though the dill sauce was the best. This great little restaurant sits right on the beach and also have craft beers. That's right. And they were damn good. The owner is Italian so you already know he can cook. Cool staff as well, helping us arrange surfing and 4 wheeling.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    64
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parrita, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Bruschetta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I are in Montezuma for the month of August along with our 2 year old, and we just tried this restaurant for the first time. Everything was amazing. They served the BEST bruschetta we have ever eaten, and the greek salad and carbonara were both A+++! I highly recommend trying one of their local brews. I ordered the Redhead and it was delicious. The staff was very friendly and super accommodating. We will probably be back multiple times during our visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 9 days in Montezuma, and we ate at Cocolores twice because it was so good. The service and the food were excellent. The food was fresh, excellently prepared, and reasonably priced. I got the spaghetti with seafood, and my boyfriend got a filet steak with potatoes. We were both very satisfied with the exceptional quality of our meal. They served a salad with a delicious dressing, I'm not sure what's in it, but you will definitely want to soak it up with some of the freshly made bread they provide your table. Cocolores also has a wonderful selection of craft beers, which I highly recommend. The cocktail menu is delicious as well, if you prefer that to beer. The staff was attentive and pleasant, and made the experience very welcoming. My only regret is that we didn't eat here one more time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was so nice to find some craft beer here! Imperial seems to be every where but nothing with much flavor and body. Being huge craft beer fans, when we saw the menu here we were ecstatic! And the beer was so yummy! I can't wait to see Jungle Brew hit it big around the world!
Service was wonderful. Never got the servers name, but he was excellent. Make sure you tip on top of the service percent that is already included!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Intimate, outdoor setting, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was one of our last restaurants in Costa Rica, and one of the best. The food was excellent. My curry and coconut fish served in a ramekin was delicious, although the mixed drinks - a caipirinha and a mojito - were much too strong. We enjoyed the outdoor seating, and the close tables gave the restaurant an intimate but lively, exciting feeling. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocolores also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Cocolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.