We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went there twice - yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolores

Cocolores
Behind Hotel Pargo Feliz, Montezuma, Costa Rica
2642-0348
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open for lunch 12:00-4:00pmHappy hour 4:00-6:00pmDinner 6:00-10:00pmAbierto almuerzo 12:00-4:00pmHappy Hour 4:00-6:00pmCena 6:00:10:00pm
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So good we went there twice - yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I'm so pleased we went for dinner at Cocolores on our first night in Montezuma as it meant we could go back again. Delicious a variety of food on offer but I'd really recommend the fish/prawns and curry & coconut sauce. We also had amazing puddings. The owner is really friendly and happy to chat. Lovely atmosphere and I'd imagine you can see the sea though we only went there in the evening. YUM!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    76
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Right on the beach with a breeze it was a laid back and relaxed atmosphere. Nice wait staff and not a long wait for the food. Some veggie options their curry was very good with very fresh veggies. Price was moderate to low it was a good deal but bring cash because no credit cards accepted. I ate dinner there and would recommend it. I think it would be nice for lunch since it is right on the beach.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Dinner in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Don't let the higher prices scare you off initially, the food here is great and the portions are generous. I ate here twice while in Montezuma and I thoroughly enjoyed both meals. The grilled squid was awesome (literally is just 5 whole grilled squids on your plate along with all the other stuff) and the chicken fajitas was the best thing I ate in Montezuma. The outdoor atmosphere is nice and the staff is fun and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We were there alone and it was a bit sad really, such good food and nobody to eat it..
It was a bit on the expensive side, but still worth the price and so good! We ate fish ceviche and kebabs and were reallycontent with the western flavoured food! Excellent restaurant

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to get a table here without a reservation during the busy December season, and the staff was very accommodating for our large dining party (6 adults, 3 kids). The place was bustling, and everyone was extremely friendly. We especially liked the coconut curry; the rest of the fare was not bad either. It's not as inexpensive as some of the other local joints, but is cheaper compared to the US and you definitely get your moneys worth.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocolores also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Cocolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.