We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocolores at the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolores

Cocolores
Behind Hotel Pargo Feliz, Montezuma, Costa Rica
2642-0348
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open for lunch 12:00-4:00pmHappy hour 4:00-6:00pmDinner 6:00-10:00pmAbierto almuerzo 12:00-4:00pmHappy Hour 4:00-6:00pmCena 6:00:10:00pm
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cocolores at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

delicious food with options for vegetarians and vegans, and a full bar. conveniently located right in the little town of Montezuma.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    68
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We asked 4 different people in Montezuma for restaurant guidance and got the same answer each time - Cocolores. Good food, nice location next to beach. Only drawback - no credit cards.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best steak in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is the second time my wife has ordered steak here, the last being in 2011. She shared some with me and it was truly delicious. I had the large shrimp and they were very good as well. The breeze does not seem to always penetrate this seaside local, but the food is great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food with a nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We ate at Cocolores once during our week in Montezuma. I wanted something other than a casada that it seemed we'd been eating all week. I had an appetizer of bruchetta which was outstanding and for dinner, the pasta carbonara which was delicious. My husband wasn't feeling well and stuck with the grilled chicken, which he enjoyed as well. We sat outside right near the beach. The atmosphere is quite nice with the waves lapping on the beach and the dim lighting. Service was very good and the price was reasonable. Certainly more expensive than the casadas at the Sodas, however well cheaper than you'd pay for the same dinner in the states. Bring cash, no CCs.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent service reliably good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've been visiting this restaurant several times annually since 2001. The host is always quick to greet you at the entrance and welcome you in. The setting hasn't changed much over the years, but there's no need it is perfectly charming. The food is always excellent and the bartender absolutely knows how to make a cocktail. Love this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocolores also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Cocolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.