We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolores

Cocolores
Behind Hotel Pargo Feliz, Montezuma, Costa Rica
2642-0348
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open for lunch 12:00-4:00pmHappy hour 4:00-6:00pmDinner 6:00-10:00pmAbierto almuerzo 12:00-4:00pmHappy Hour 4:00-6:00pmCena 6:00:10:00pm
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went here several times. Really enjoyed the fresh clams. Pasta was also good. Nice selection of drinks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    76
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food in a surfside setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Without question, the best thing I ate in Costa Rica was the Pepper steak at Coccalorres in Montezuma. The restaurant is tucked away off of "Main St". in Montezuma and is certainly worth seeking at. From the candlelit tables one can clearly hear the sound of the surf through the trees. Like most Tico restaurants the menu is plain but hearty and, like I said, the Pepper steak was superb!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
“Out of this world ceviche with pico de gallo & chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Located on the beach in the Southeast corner of the one block "downtown". Also had a wonderful spaghetti carbonara. Take cash - no credit cards. Take more cash because the local ATM only works occasionally.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overrated and overcooked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We heard great things about this place but were very disappointed. The fish stew was very overcooked. The crevice was ok but not as good as expected.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trust me: Get the ceviche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed in Montezuma during three trips to Costa Rica. The first was because we were traveling on motorcycles and ran out of daylight. The next two were because of our dining experiences at Cocolores.

The meals are very, very good. During each visit, our dining party members have never been disappointed but the one item that really draws me back is their Mediterranean style ceviche - white Marlin served in olive oil. Wow. Get one order for yourself. You will not want to share.

One caveat though. As great as the food is, we've had two experiences where the wait staff have been curt and emotionless instead of the typical Costa Rican friendliness. Normally, this would be a deal killer but, in this case, the food rules.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocolores also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Cocolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.