We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust me: Get the ceviche” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolores

Cocolores
Behind Hotel Pargo Feliz, Montezuma, Costa Rica
2642-0348
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open for lunch 12:00-4:00pmHappy hour 4:00-6:00pmDinner 6:00-10:00pmAbierto almuerzo 12:00-4:00pmHappy Hour 4:00-6:00pmCena 6:00:10:00pm
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trust me: Get the ceviche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed in Montezuma during three trips to Costa Rica. The first was because we were traveling on motorcycles and ran out of daylight. The next two were because of our dining experiences at Cocolores.

The meals are very, very good. During each visit, our dining party members have never been disappointed but the one item that really draws me back is their Mediterranean style ceviche - white Marlin served in olive oil. Wow. Get one order for yourself. You will not want to share.

One caveat though. As great as the food is, we've had two experiences where the wait staff have been curt and emotionless instead of the typical Costa Rican friendliness. Normally, this would be a deal killer but, in this case, the food rules.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    64
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything's so good...It's so hard to choose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Relaxing and romantic atmosphere, great vibes, and amazing food...you will go back again during your stay in Montezuma. Everything is good on this menu and it's probably the most popular spot in Montezuma. MUST try: 1) The Ceviche...no words to describe, I'll let your tastebuds do all the talking! 2) Lebanesa Salad...that and the Ceviche is ALL you need, simply amazing. 3) Their famous curry fish in a pot... you'll want to take it home so you taste it again later. Also, had the pork chop in rosemary cream sauce too, it was insane!!

You can't go wrong here... I can't imagine anyone having something bad to say about any dish at this restaurant. Straight up.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very nice setting, you can sit almost at the beach.I ate there twice and I can recommend the chicken breast either plain or with pineapple sauce. Very tasty!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our best experience in Montezuma. The staff was friendly and every single bite (the five of us shared all our plates) was wonderful. If you're in Montezuma, this is the top local cuisine!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best steak I've had in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Been here about a month. Service was great and atmosphere/lighting was amazing. You really can't dine much closer to the beach. Most importantly, the Blue Cheese Steak was AMAZING. Slightly pricier than other restaurants in the area but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cocolores also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Cocolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.