We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolores

Cocolores
Behind Hotel Pargo Feliz, Montezuma, Costa Rica
2642-0348
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open for lunch 12:00-4:00pmHappy hour 4:00-6:00pmDinner 6:00-10:00pmAbierto almuerzo 12:00-4:00pmHappy Hour 4:00-6:00pmCena 6:00:10:00pm
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very nice setting, you can sit almost at the beach.I ate there twice and I can recommend the chicken breast either plain or with pineapple sauce. Very tasty!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    143
    56
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our best experience in Montezuma. The staff was friendly and every single bite (the five of us shared all our plates) was wonderful. If you're in Montezuma, this is the top local cuisine!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best steak I've had in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Been here about a month. Service was great and atmosphere/lighting was amazing. You really can't dine much closer to the beach. Most importantly, the Blue Cheese Steak was AMAZING. Slightly pricier than other restaurants in the area but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't go for the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We checked out this place based on a few recommendations that we received from hotels in the area. The food was good but not great we felt that Puggos was so much better. The service on the other hand had a lot to be desired. Any time that we asked a question it was if we were bothering them and they would speak so fast as if they did not have time to care we were there.

I asked if there were any specials and received a snide comment that everything on their menu was special. I also asked if I could have a glass of ice with my ice tea and received a comment that it was served with ice. Not all places provide a glass and ice when you order a drink. At the end of our meal we had some friends that we had met who were also having dinner there and we were going to join them for desert. They asked if we could move to a larger table that had just opened up and their server was no better than ours had been as he rolled his eyes and stated no at first and then asked if we were going to move - really?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We ate here in early Dec with a large group group. They were very accommodating. We've been to CR many times and this is by far the fastest and best service we have had. The food was great- I had the carbonara pasta and it was some of the best I've ever had- on par with any high end Italian place at home. Several others in our group had the steak and enjoyed it. Nobody in our group had a bad meal. They even managed to handle our large tab correctly and split it up by couples! Great place and will be back to eat here next time I'm in Montezuma.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocolores also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cocolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.