We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hang out with Blue Urraca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakery Cafe

The Bakery Cafe
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hang out with Blue Urraca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The food is good too. Reasonably priced, friendly staff. Great place to hide out in the afternoon heat- it's surrounded by trees that shade the patio from the heat. The Urraca birds are good entertainment.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
caribbean
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“typical Costa Rica - dont care!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Like most of Costa Rica food is not important - just a way to fill you up and get as much money from you as possible. Like most places it was ok! But so what! A million tourist are right behind you - get out of the way!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts, amazing fresh juices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We ate at the Bakery Cafe two mornings on our recent trip to Zuma and would have returned for a third had they not been closed on Sundays. We hadn't even gotten 1/4 of the way through our first meal when our kids asked if we could come back the next day. Simple yet delicious food in a cool setting, often with monkey sightings right from the table!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had our breakfast here one morning and the pancakes were delicious! Our waitress was very friendly and made us feel very welcome! Would definitely return here again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Monkeys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I enjoyed my lunch casado very much while I was here, but honestly, watching the monkeys and a local pizote was the highlight. Seriously amazing to view animals so close-up. It was super neat. The owner and his son were very friendly and we enjoyed asking them questions about the visiting animals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery Cafe also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.