We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hang out with Blue Urraca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakery Cafe

The Bakery Cafe
Despues Del Centro de Montezuma, Hacia la Playa, Lado Izquierda, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420186
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hang out with Blue Urraca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The food is good too. Reasonably priced, friendly staff. Great place to hide out in the afternoon heat- it's surrounded by trees that shade the patio from the heat. The Urraca birds are good entertainment.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gongoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
caribbean
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“typical Costa Rica - dont care!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Like most of Costa Rica food is not important - just a way to fill you up and get as much money from you as possible. Like most places it was ok! But so what! A million tourist are right behind you - get out of the way!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts, amazing fresh juices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We ate at the Bakery Cafe two mornings on our recent trip to Zuma and would have returned for a third had they not been closed on Sundays. We hadn't even gotten 1/4 of the way through our first meal when our kids asked if we could come back the next day. Simple yet delicious food in a cool setting, often with monkey sightings right from the table!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newenglandtravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We had our breakfast here one morning and the pancakes were delicious! Our waitress was very friendly and made us feel very welcome! Would definitely return here again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Monkeys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I enjoyed my lunch casado very much while I was here, but honestly, watching the monkeys and a local pizote was the highlight. Seriously amazing to view animals so close-up. It was super neat. The owner and his son were very friendly and we enjoyed asking them questions about the visiting animals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cziser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery Cafe also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing