We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkeys!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakery Cafe

The Bakery Cafe
Despues Del Centro de Montezuma, Hacia la Playa, Lado Izquierda, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420186
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Monkeys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I enjoyed my lunch casado very much while I was here, but honestly, watching the monkeys and a local pizote was the highlight. Seriously amazing to view animals so close-up. It was super neat. The owner and his son were very friendly and we enjoyed asking them questions about the visiting animals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    42
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We went here TWICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We mostly cooked in our house, but we came here TWICE because the food is so spectacular! Home made Empanadas. Mmmmmm. Perfectly cooked and seasoned Mahi Mahi. They make everything, including their own bread and cookies and cakes. Perfect!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Plenty of animals to watch while you enjoy your meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had to go back here a second time both for the good food and because I didn't have my camera the first time to take photos of all the animals. There were lots of monkeys jumping around in the trees around the cafe plus birds, iguanas and squirrels. The owner was very friendly and we had nice meals both times. Especially the indian meal for 2 and the juices. Service was a little slow but we were happy just to watch the monkeys while we waited.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I recently spent 4 mornings in Montezuma and went here on 3 out of the 4. The food is good, relatively simple and inexpensive, and there is also a large selection of juices and smoothie drinks that are delicious. One of the novelties of this place is that the monkeys and birds hang around hoping to get your food. My girlfriend thinks this is cute, however the attention from the animals is fairly oppressive and I did not find it very cute. That being said, guard your food closely and don't be alarmed if a bird lands on your table, just shoo it away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itasca, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent spot for a snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Enjoyed the baked items, and very friendly staff (who isn't in Costa Rica!?!?). Wish I had gone back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery Cafe also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.