We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location overlooking Montezuma beach with entertaining monkeys” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakery Cafe

The Bakery Cafe
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice location overlooking Montezuma beach with entertaining monkeys”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner. The restaurant staff don't speak English. There is a menu, but not everything is available. Our best memory is that for half of the items we tried to order from the menu, the reply was " not possible", the only English they seemed to know, so it reminded us of a "Saturday Night Live" episode. Food was pretty good and reasonably priced. Cash only.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    31
    30
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreacres, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One menu and one wonderful meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The morning we ate at the Bakery Cafe, the waiter had to share their single menu with three other parties. I began wondering what we were getting ourselves into at that point. Despite the sharing of the menu, we were pleased with the service and the food they prepared. The meal was visually pleasing and tasty. Each of us had a different entree and we enjoyed tasting a little of the many offerings of the Bakery Cafe. It is a wonderful place for breakfast, although if you are wanting your food or beverages in a hurry, you may find yourself disappointed. This is Costa Rica, and they operate on Tico time. The morning we were at the Bakery Cafe, our waiter explained that the cook had been up late the night before and was running a little slow. The wait was worth it though..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“Amazing Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Probably the best meal we had all trip (arguably ever). We had the Consado del Pascado. It was SOOOO good. They also have amazing Costa Rican coffee.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“new management - now awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went to this place after reading the Lonely Planet review. It is clearly under new management and absolutely awful. There were no baked goods to be found, when I ordered a bottle of water, the waiter told me they didn't have any but he would run to the store and get some, which he did. We saw at least two more food runs for our (very simple) orders. The food took forever, came out one meal at a time, and was wrong. My empanadas were burnt. My son ordered pancakes with syrup. When they came out with jam, we asked for syrup. The waiter pointed to the jam and said "that's the syrup." I speak Spanish so this wasn't a language issue. There are so many good and cheap place in Montezuma - Soda La Naranja, Soda Las Delices - there is no reason to go here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Spider monkeys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The food and juices were fresh and refreshing> I believe this is were we saw the antics of the spider monkeys in the bakery's garden.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery Cafe also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.