We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agua Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Agua Vista to your Saves list
Agua Vista
1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% discount - $53/night!
CHAPEL HILL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Wow, what an amazing place! Such a beautiful area, unbelievable view from Agua Vista, such a secluded and lovely place, feel so lucky to have found it. Montezuma is not too bad of a drive (and ferry trip) from the airport, especially considering we first traveled all the way to the Limon area. When you get off the ferry it is about an hour drive to Agua Vista. Very long and bumpy road up the "driveway" to Agua Vista, but wow is it worth it! You will see animals along the road if you are slow! At the top there are 4 amazing bungalows and Alex and Khalida's home. I didn't have the pleasure of meeting Khalida, but Alex was very friendly and helpful but also respected our privacy (honeymooners)! The bungalow is well appointed and we wished we could have stayed for weeks! With a fully equipped kitchen you can make your own meals. The plunge pool is to die for and very necessary considering the heat! We spent a lot of time in it and also spent a few hours at the larger pool near the owners house. Yes it is hot without a/c, but we found that taking a cold shower outside before getting in bed helps a lot! Plus the fan helps greatly - you'll get used to it. The power went out once while we were there but we hear that is rare. We got to watch monkeys and other animals eat fruit that we left out right beside the pool! You may have to "leave" and then sneak back to catch them outside the house!! Amazing. We also hiked to the waterfalls - very beautiful though brown becuase of the recent rain. Go to the beach, but make sure to not go right by the restaurants where it is polluted, just take a left in the downtown area and you will find a beautiful beach with plenty of parking - Alex will tell you :) We ziplined at Suntrails in Montezuma and loved it, they take you to the same waterfalls, but to a different point that you reach at the bottom of the Agua Vista trail. Do not expect the zipline to be like ziplining in Monteverde - Alex says Suntrails does not compare, but we still greatly enjoyed and I think you will too if you have not done Monteverde! Great place, we stayed 3 nights, make sure you stay longer ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in Casa Morfo, beautiful view with a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Come back for an anniversary! :) We are very honored to have hosted you for your honeymoon and thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us (or rather with each other at Casa Morfo).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
75
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I've lived in Costa Rica for the past 8 months and can say hands down this is the best place I have ever stayed. Alex and Khalida we're more than you could ask for as hosts. We stayed in Casa Tragon which was everything we needed and a dipping pool. Agua Vista is the perfect place to have a lazy day or go hike and explore the waterfalls, a 5 min dive from town and about 45 minutes from Santa Teresa you won't run out of things to do. Also of note is the amount of wild life around the villa, we saw toucans, coati, monkeys and go figure, a tragon. Anxiously awaiting a return trip. An absolute jewel. Don't think, book it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are so lucky to have such lovely people stay with us. Come visit us again - since you live here in CR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I've been coming to Montezuma for 5 years and this property is my favorite property in all of Costa Rica. Whether you are a solo traveler, or with a group and need a few homes, this is the place to be. The view on the hill is breathtaking, the owners are amazing, you feel as if you have been friends with them for years, and the wild life is more abundant than most national parks. The homes are cleaned daily, and the outdoor showers make you feel as if you are one with nature. Two houses have dipping pools and the property has a gorgeous infinity pool. We just had our wedding in Montezuma and the owners accommidated and helped us with our special day. Be prepared to see monkies, butterflies, and fish from their ponds. The waterfall is close and they have a private trail to it! It's the perfect spot for couples, families, retired people who want to relax, and yoga retreats. You will feel like a new person after you stay here, it is paradise. You can have a car or walk into town takes 20 minutes, or take a cheap taxi, nights are cool and days are full of sunshine. Thanks for an amazing experience. I will continue to come back to Costa Rica just to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
What can I say? We adore hosting you on every occasion and we look forward to seeing you again soon! It has been such a gift to have gotten to know you over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Absolutely loved this place. We stayed in Casa Morfo when we first arrived in Costa Rica on a 3 week trip and found it the perfect place to relax, unwind and plan our itinerary. It was so quiet, with lovely views and wildlife all around you. We particularly liked waking up really early to sit on the patio, watch the day dawn and hear all the noises from the birds and monkeys!
Facilities wise Aqua Vista has all you need and Alex and Khalida are lovely and more than happy to help if you need anything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I spent a week in Bamboo Bungalow in February as finale to our 3+ week trip to Costa Rica. It was just perfect, with the open-air shower being a particular delight! I don't know what else I can add to everything that has been said before, except to reemphasize that we saw more wildlife from our deck at Aguavista than anywhere else! In fact, we've been home for 3 weeks and I still wake up every morning wishing I could have my coffee there! Alex and Khalida are the greatest hosts, with an answer for pretty much everything we needed or wanted. To say they made us feel "at home" is an understatement!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you! Wonderful words, indeed, from such seasoned travelers. We hope to see you again if you make another trip to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at Agua Vista (in Casa Morpho) in February and absolutely loved it! While in Costa Rica we visited Cabo Blanco, Corcovado, and Quetzels National Parks and also the Curu Preserve.......and yet we saw more wildlife (more closely) at Casa Morpho and along the driveway in than at all those parks COMBINED! Coatimundi, tamandua, toucans, eagles howler monkeys, capuchins, kisskadees, various colibri, iguanas, pygmy owls, puffbirds, blue morphos, and more. My advice.....book a week at Agua Vista and just hang out for your wildlife experience. The accommodations are first rate, the hosts are super friendly, and you won't need to deal with the overused parks.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Oh yes, oh hum :) THANK YOU! I have quoted you now on several occasions when guests have asked about going to the National Park. We hope you can make it back someday - and come in November, the wildlife is really overwhelming then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I found Auga Vista on tripadvisor.ca last year and based on the reviews, booked a week in February 2014. We were not disappointed. In fact, Agua Vista exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back! The propertyand grounds are beautiful and Casa Morpho was perfectly situated with spectacular mountain and ocean views. I'm not usually an early riser but we didn't want to miss a moment of the day. We were up at sunrise having coffee on the porch listening and watching the jungle wake up. Plenty of wildlife literally on your doorstep. Casa Morpho was charming and exactly what we were looking for in accommodations. The open air outdoor feel of the house and the porch and private plunge pool were awesome! The kitchen is fully equipped (we used the blender often!) and we loved the full size fridge! We were concerned that the house was not air conditioned but it was a non issue - the fans provide ample air flow, There is plenty to do in the area and we rented an ATV with the help of Khalida and Alex. So many lovely beaches to explore in the Montezuma area and the quad was perfect for touring around. Make sure to hike to the river and waterfall on the property. The koi pond is beautiful and a relaxing place to sit and enjoy the fish.

Khalida and Alex were gracious hosts and very helpful. Khalida was a pleasure to deal with when making reservations and my e-mail questions were promptly answered. Alex recommended we try Soda La Naranja in town - which we probably wouldn't have considered otherwise - it turned out to be our best meal in Montezuma! Cocolores was another great dining experience on the beach! Puggos was a disappointment this year and we didn't have time to get to Playa de los Artistas...next time!

We will definitely be back! Thank you for a beautiful vacation!

Cheers guys,

Kevin & Tracy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agua Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Vista

Address: 1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Agua Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Vista Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agua Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.