We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and marvelous stay at AGUA VISTA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agua Vista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agua Vista
1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Short and marvelous stay at AGUA VISTA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We can only confirm what others have already written: tremendous site, beautiful views, spacious, clean and comfortable accommodation, private pool (casa trogon and casa morpho) + big shared pool and an absolutely extraordinary nature just around the casa! See my photos!
Only regret : that we had to leave after the 4 paradisiac nights we spent there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
73
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at the Agua Vista. On our first day there we saw monkeys outside our apartment, humming birds and much more. Our daughter who is five loved a rather large lizard who lived on the apartment roof who she named Jack! The kitchen was great which is great when you are on a budget. The washing machine helped too! I really liked the plunge pool just outside our pool. Our daughter thought this was great and spent most of her time in it! I would highly recommend Agua Vista. We wanted somewhere to relax and a get away paradise from our hectic jobs back home - this place provided that and more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Our family had an amazing time here. Saw more wildlife than any national park - most of it from our doorstep. The cabin was beautiful and secluded. We enjoyed cooking our own meals most of the time and our daughter really loved the pool. Alex and Kahida were also very good hosts, and provided helpful advice on things to do in the area. We would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

What can I write that hasn't already been written?
Our family loved Agua Vista! We were there with my 6 year old daughter and 12 year old son. Alex and Khalida were wonderful hosts and answered all of our questions. Originally we thought that we didn't need a car, but once we arrived we understood that a car was necessary. Alex had one delivered to our casita within less than a half of an hour. If all you want is to go to town, then you could survive with just taxis. but if you want to explore the area and get off the beaten track then a car is necessary.

The property was gorgeous. The view, especially at sunrise, is breathtaking. The cottage was beautiful and had everything we needed and more. The river is a good ten minute hike straight downhill. But it is worth it. We hiked, climbed, waded up the river and found some truly incredible swimming holes. We saw 2 kinds of monkeys, iguanas, butterflies and countless birds on the property.

We can't wait to return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved our time at Agua Vista! Our little cottage exceeded our expectations! The view is amazing and who knew a plunge pool could be so awesome! There was truly nothing we needed that wasn't provided for us. The kitchen had all the cookware we needed. There was a washing machine and clothes line. I was a little worried because my husband made the reservation and didn't notice the cottage we reserved didn't have AC but it didn't matter at all. Even though it was hot during the day we slept comfortably at night under the ceiling fan. I believe the other cottages do have AC but I wouldn't have traded our view from Casa Trogon for anything. We stayed for three days and enjoyed the waterfall hike on the property and two separate visits by monkeys.

The owners were out of town for our visit, but their friend was very helpful and organized horseback riding for us and gave us restaurant recommendations.

We truly loved our stay and are planning to return with a group of friends in the future!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 3 weeks on our honeymoon in Costa Rica and stayed in 7 different places and this was our favorite. We originally booked 3 nights in Casa Trogon but ended up booking another 3 for the bamboo bungalow once we got there. We felt so comfortable there. The property and view from the cabanas is gorgeous. Costa Rica is magical overall but Agua Vista was extra special. We saw families of white faced and howler monkeys, coatis and all kinds of birds. We loved Casa Trogon. We enjoyed the outdoor space and our little dipping pool. The cabanas are beautiful, clean and have character. The one thing that was a challenge at times was walking 20-30 minutes into town when we needed something. I wouldn't let that stop you though because this place is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Alex and Khalida are wonderful hosts. They have great information about the area. The cottage we stayed was wonderful. Nice big kitchen with a good selection of utensils and a good gas stove.Big patio area outside with a dipping pool. Woke up to monkeys playing in the trees. You have to drive back a private road and it is well worth it when you get there. Beautiful view of the ocean in the distance. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agua Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Vista

Also Known As:
Agua Vista Hotel Montezuma
Agua Vista Hotel
Address: 1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agua Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Agua Vista to your Saves list